We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creative Vegetarian”

V-Note Organic Wine Bar & Vegan Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Description: From the creator of Blossom and Café Blossom, comes V-Note, an organic wine bar and vegan bistro set in an elegant, relaxed and inviting space on Manhattan’s Upper East Side. V-Note carries a vast selection of wine and beers, all of which are vegan, organic and/or bio-dynamic and in some cases even kosher, to accompany our completely vegan menu dedicated to fresh gourmet cuisine that is animal-caring. V-Note offers a rare opportunity for vegans and non-vegans alike to enjoy a great, satisfying meal paired with a carefully selected wine and/or beer. A kitchen that is open later fills a much needed niche for vegan restaurants in New York.
asbury park, new jersey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Creative Vegetarian”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I visited V-Note last night. The food was very creative and interesting vegetarian fare. There is a focus on meat substitutes. The black bean cake was too spicy for me, but my friend loved it. The pumpkin and sweet potato gnocci were delicious and unique. We shared the Waldorf salad which was very fresh with crunchy apples and the seitan Schnitzel which was AMAZING. We also had the seitan medallions with peppercorn sauce which was delicious. The mushroom lentil ravioli were the only disappointing dish. Try the chocolate fondue for two-fabulous! We totally overate! The organic wine list is extensive! We had a wonderful meal and a great evening.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilacgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    26
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best vegan restaurant in NYC”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We were in New York for one week and did a vegetarian restaurant tour based on some reccomendations and a personal online research. Among all restaurants visited, we found that V-Note was the best of them all. You know when right after the first bite you know it's going to be superb? It was! We had very yummy, yet healthy apetizers, entrees and deserts and the service was also great.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moniafilipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I are in town for the weekend and stopped into v note after a quick search on vegetarian and vegan restaurants. The atmosphere was very relaxing with an acoustic guitar player sitting by the bar.
They were able to accommodate our arrival late Friday night (8:30) without a reservation which was really nice. We love asking the opinion of our server, what they would eat, at just about every new restaurant we go to. No one knows the menu like they do and although taste preferences can be very different, we'll try everything once! (twice if it's amazing, like at vnote)
We started off with 2 "cake" apps. 1- black eye pea cakes and 1- Cape cod cakes. Go with the black eyed pea if you only want one. I had the pistachio crusted tofu and it was amazing. I tent to stay away from too much tofu in restaurants because I eat a lot at home, and it can be bland. But not this one. Wow. The flavor was amazing and the texture just perfectly smooth and crunchy (not chewy or rubbery). The root vegetable crepe was a bit bland, but I understand why a the tofu was so flavorful.
My husband had the ravioli and raved the whole time. What the ravioli lacked in flavor, the sauce made up for. It was the perfect balance of richness and smokey.
We were too full for dessert but the table beside us ordered The chocolate peanut butter ganache and it lasted all of 2 minutes on their plate.
Go. Even if you're not vegan or vegetarian. It's just great and real food!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xtina_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service in a nice envifonment.”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Nicely prepared vegan food in an upscale environment. We shared a pumpkin and sweet potato gnocchi as an appetizer. The gnocchi melt in your mouth. The accompanying sauce was superb.
As a main course, the seitan medallions are delicious. They are very close in composition to meat doth a wonderful flavor.

The desert was acqonderful chocolate ganache cake. It just melts in you mouth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RossSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Totally yummy!”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Visited for lunch with my vegan friend and we really enjoyed our meal! I got the tempeh with the avocado salad and she got the thai tofu. We both thought ours was the best! The price was reasonable and the atmosphere was chill. The server was helpful and attentive but not annoying. We will def return if we are in the area!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kamaa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed V-Note Organic Wine Bar & Vegan Bistro also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing