We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super swanky and hip hotel for young people”
Review of Hotel Americano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Americano
Ranked #384 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super swanky and hip hotel for young people”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend with my sister. I'm 18 and she's 22. We absolutely LOVED our stay here. The staff are super attentive and nice. We even made conversation with one of them upon arrival. The rooms are very clean, well maintained, and just so chic. We actually thought the concrete floors were nice! It didn't make the room cold or anything because the heating was keeping us warm. The beds, linens, and pillows were so comfortable -- we slept so well. The Aesop products and Marvis toothpaste added to the stay as well.
The lobby is very well designed and the Americano restaurant had great brunch options. The food was delicious and coffee was very good quality.

I took one star off for a few reasons. One, because of the thin walls. I woke up one night because I could hear the room next door making noise. One guy was even hiccuping non-stop and I could hear that… Maybe he was in the hallway, but it was so loud. Also, the light switches are a bit annoying. There isn't one master light near the bed to turn the lights off, so we would have to get up and individually turn off each light. The shower curtains could also be wider to cover the entire shower area.

Other than those things, Hotel Americano is the perfect accommodation for young people (and older if you don't mind walking a lot and smaller rooms) who want to get away from the main hustle and bustle of NYC. The location is very cute and in a few year's time will be extremely developed and popular. I loved staying here and found the size of the room cozy and chic.
I'm definitely going to stay here again and will definitely recommend this more affordable high-end boutique hotel to family and friends.

Thank you, Hotel Americano!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurajung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPamericano, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for the incredible feedback from our staff to the amenities to the neighborhood. It is important that every like and dislike be communicated to us so we are able to improve where needed. It is great to here that you and your sister were able to spend a holiday with us. Being a small property, it gives our staff the opportunity to spend more time with guests and form a relationship. As for the neighborhood, we could not agree with you more! Chelsea is slowly growing and is and will be more so, a wonderful and historical place. We look forward to having you back in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    127
    63
    45
    26
See reviews for
18
152
37
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morrison, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

While the rooftop restaurant provided a nice view, the rooms were extremely small with concrete floors looking into a brick wall!! I was extremely disappointed as I paid a lot of money for the room. I would recommend looking elsewhere, like across the bay and paying extra for the taxi (rather than being walking distance). I would have spent a lot less if I had followed this advice and would have had a nicer room with a nicer view of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPamericano, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback about the hotel. We are aware that NYC is not for everyone and some do prefer more space and a view of the city rather than staying in Manhattan. We always like to think that our guests that continuously return love the feeling of being a local and enjoy the hustle and bustle. Please return to our rooftop when you come back for a visit to enjoy the food and views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here in November with friends. A trendy hotel right on New York's highline. Reception staff were very helpful, knowledgeable and charming, Breakfast and upstairs bar were good and fun places to meet with friends. Aesop toilet amenities were wonderful. As with some of the other reviews, we found the room very small, the key and metal rod annoying. The rain shower was nice but the toilet which was visible from the bedroom (unless you succeeded in closing the shower curtain completely) took some getting used to. Small gripe but many of the towels were quite worn and in need of replacement.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAucamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPamericano, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay at the Americano. It's great to hear that our staff is eager to help guests. We work hard to provide all departments with knowledge of the growing Chelsea area and we love hearing that is being used by our guests. We have brought to the attention of our Housekeeping team your comments about the bathroom linen and they are looking into this. We are happy that you took the time to write your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A beautifully designed boutique hotel by architect Enrique Norten geared towards the moneyed international set (skewed towards the Spanish speaking as this is owned by the Mexico based Grupo Habita) located on West 27th smack in the middle of the Chelsea gallery scene. The small lobby acts as a buffer between the entrance and its dining room/restaurant. The welcome is chilly much like the art galleries and you have a personal concierge who has to tell you how to operate the elevator, open your door and turn on the lights and the thermostat and raise the curtains using a steel rod and a conventional key--it is that complicated. The room I stayed in had a raised wooden platform with a great mattress and crisp cool sheets and feather/down pillow, a flat screen mounted on the wall, an Ipad tethered to a cable with free internet access, great bar selection (not unreasonably priced). The room is small but the furnishings are well curated and likely all carried by Design Within Reach. The bathroom products are the best I've ever seen--Aesop--a Melbourne based company--and these alone would have cost you $50 if purchased from their website or MrPorter.com.

The High Line is less than 1/2 a block and the Chelsea Market, Cafe Grumpy, Del Posto, Red Cat, Collichio and Sons and the Meatpacking district are merely blocks away. The subway alas is further out.

Overall, this hotel is the premier property in Chelsea and trumps the Maritime Hotel and High Line hotel in amenities and location and excellent for singles and young couples who prefer to avoid the hustle and bustle of Midtown, Downtown and the Village.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor as the restaurant/bar can be raucous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPamericano, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
This feedback is wonderful and exactly what we hope to hear from every guest. The fine details you mentioned such as the Aesop, our location, the linen, are things we feel add to the richness of the property. It is great to hear that these things have not gone unnoticed and it seems as though you travel often. Your review is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

First of all I was SO SO SO disappointed that the rooftop wasn't open. We stayed on a hot sunny day & would have relished a warm evening sipping cocktails, enjoying the glorious view. Alas, the rooftop is seasonal, my vision was not to be. I should have researched this, so make sure you look into it against your dates if the rooftop is a draw card for you too.

In spite of this, the hotel itself was still able to impress. Mostly because I adore its aesthetic. Not to say the staff weren't great too (they truly were), but it's the detail in the clean, modern design that excites the most. The basic rooms are super small, but well designed, and so cool.

Americano is a great little hotel, showcasing a well-executed, sophisticated design direction. The Skyline Walk and 'Sleep No More' (theater production) are great attractions literally steps away, but if you want to be right near most the tourist action, Chelsea - whilst a great area, the market is a must visit - probably isn't the spot for you. If you like your interior design more wanky than swanky, you'll probably like Americano.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmaagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPamericano, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. It looks as though you were able to enjoy one of NYC's last warm days during your stay in October. We did close for a short time during our preparation for Artico, our rooftop restaurant and lounge. I apologize you missed our opening but hope that this will bring you back soon to enjoy the covered rooftop equipped with heat and the magnificent views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I wanted to stay at this hotel for some time, since seeing the photos in a travel magazine. Before booking, I checked the reviews on tripadvisor. Low beds didn't scare me, and concrete floor sounded nice, so I booked a week at Americano.
When I entered the lobby, I quickly realised that the photographer of Americano's promo shots should probably get some award for, well, making it look way better than it really was. Cheap finish of many areas somehow didn't add to the design aspect of the hotel. I mean, grey corridor walls... local hostel called and asked their paint back.
The room was small and not very functional. Tiny table with no space on it, glossy beanbag, 3 telephones - a paradox of a room pretty much.
The famous pool was tiny, more of a water feature. And to get to the pool, you have to go through the restaurant, which cancelled my plans of swimming in the evening.
To be fair, this probably is not the worst hotel in New York, and they have good chances of improving. But their promo materials jumped way ahead of the hotel's current state. Will not be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank no_nonsense_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPamericano, sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are so disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Of course we would love nothing more but to be the best fit for you but understand our concept and design does not meet everyone's needs. We hope that our other areas of the hotel such as the restaurants, views and staff made up for the things that you did not like. If you do return to New York please pay us another visit to enjoy our wonderful rooftop bar or enjoy coffee on our quaint patio located in our restaurant downstairs. We do appreciate your feedback and giving us a chance to stay as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

15th year wedding celebrated in NYC staying a night at Americano.

All the staff were so kind and quick to fix any question. Breakfast and dinner is really worth trying with superb mexican tortillas etc.

The top floor with its gorgeous views and relaxed atmosphere is a reason in itself to stay at the Americano.

If you feel the need to get around the hotel has cool bikes from Vanmoof to borrow.

The size also is also a plus not too large and together with everything else it is one of our best hotel stays ever.

Cant wait to get back..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolusXII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPamericano, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are so happy you had a wonderful anniversary. As a great boutique property we have the opportunity to add more detail to our guests and their needs. Thank you for taking the time to point out some great aspects of Hotel Americano such as the rooftop, food, and staff. Happy Anniversary and we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#114 of 468 in New York City
3,490 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#116 of 468 in New York City
586 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#162 of 468 in New York City
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#150 of 468 in New York City
2,781 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#300 of 468 in New York City
1,193 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#211 of 468 in New York City
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Americano

Property: Hotel Americano
Address: 518 W 27th St, New York City, NY 10001-5506
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Americano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing