We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Hotel Americano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Americano
Ranked #384 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I will certainly never stay at the Americano again. Yes, the hotel is funky and the location excellent. But as I am writing, instead of getting much needed sleep before a business meeting tomorrow, I am kept awake by really loud music coming from the hotel rooftop bar. It´s past midnight, and at reception they tell me that, unfortunately, there is an event in the hotel rooftop and that music will continue playing at least for a good couiple of hours. Not the kind of thing you would expect from an expensive hotel which prides itself of looking well after its guests. In addtion, beds are indeed uncomfortable and the bedroom minimnalist decor looks good but does not really suit the traveller´s needs. This is a farewell from me to the Americano.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank marian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megi D, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Mariah,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Americano. I would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to noise. We do have rooms in the hotel that are quite, and would have been a better fit for you. We try and keep noise at a minimum, even at private events and will continue to look out for that in the future.

Thank you once again for your review.

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel AMericano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    129
    64
    46
    27
See reviews for
20
154
38
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Fun, smart, excentric, fresh ... expensive as The Big Apple is ... we did enjoy and would book again !
Excellent location, just near the "Train" for an evenening walk or shapping !
Perfect to group when you are a small group as the Hotel is Hip and In !
See you soon !

Room Tip: Riooms with city view !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulVDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Paul,

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your time at Hotel Americano. As you know by now, New York is an expensive city, but we like to believe that here you pay for what you receive. Our standards are high when it comes to service, food, comfort and of course entertainment, and are glad to know you were satisfied in all areas. We appreciate you taking the time to review us.

Thank you,

Megi Doci
Hotel Americano
Marketing & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Sexy in the City and a 'Design' Award Winning offer!? this Big Americano is refreshingly different!! You can predict the experience you will have in an Urban Hotel by the creativeness of its Restaurant's Head Chef - in this case Joseph "Buen Buen" Buenconsejo's - offering a hybrid menu which fuses French-meets-Latin-American cuisine. Everything is absolutely delicious! - South American quinoa and salsa verdecross cross culturally polinated with French lobster. Call Roooom Service!! The Bento Boxes combining poblano peppers, guacamole, tacos and refried beans are adorable. Watch out for taco-crumbs in the bed!! and some may not fully appreciate the 'Minimalist-and-bare-concrete floors' - but the overall vibe is much too good to ignore. Perfect Location with awe inspring views of this Towerful City that doesnt sleep. Buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzing!!

Room Tip: Bedrooms are neat and economic. You may spend most of your time socialising in the Hotels diverse ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Tassanum,

We would like to first Thank You for taking the time to review us. We are elated to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and captured the feel of what Hotel Americano is about (and of course the food). If you do plan on coming to NYC again, we would love to have you stay with us. Please, feel free to contact me directly and I would love to set up your reservation, MDoci@hotel-americano.com

Very best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff was great but this hotel is not a winner! The room is literally the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. The minimalist design seems ok on the surface but bare concrete floors in a hotel room just does not offer any comfort, the bathroom was cramped and tough for two people to get ready at the same time. Terrible bed....not a place we'll return to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeAConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello Joe,

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Hotel Americano is a design oriented hotel, but that doesn't mean that our rooms don't offer all the comfort and amenities another NYC hotel does. We are sorry that you did not find them to be fulfilling. We would love if you did return in the future and let us change your opinion of us. You can email me directly to set up any future reservations, mdoci@hotel-americano.com

Thank you once again for reviewing Hotel Americano.

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hands down the most memorable and unique place I have ever stayed at in the city. For a weekend I was completely pampered by the attentive, trendy staff and the massive amounts of entertainment options on site. There's multiple elegant restaurants, a rooftop pool bar and a perfect location to all the best galleries in Chelsea. Rooms have a neat, to-the-point feel that's comforting and insanely stylish. Highlight was the pre-loaded iPad in the room that made you think you were walking into a sleek lounge doubling as your bedroom. Such a hidden gem, I didn't even want to say nice things because I hope rooms are available next time I go to NYC too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello,

We would like to thank you for staying with us, and especially for writing such a wonderful review. We truly appreciate it and are so incredibly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much you would return next time you are in New York. I would love to personally take care of any future reservations you do have, please email me mdoci@hotel-americano.com. Thank you once again for taking the time to review us.

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in the run up to Christmas. We hadn't chosen a hotel before we got to NY, and selected Hotel Americano as it had been shortlisted for an extremely prestigious Wallpaper Design Award, and also the rates were very cheap compared to other hotels in that league.

We were not disappointed. The design style is urban, funky, retro, minimalist, and has a very cool atmosphere. The hotel fits right in with the up and coming neighbourhood - the really good bar across the street, the cutting edge art galleries in the vicinity, the new High Line passing right overhead (which is amazing) taking you down into the heart of the trendy Meat Packing district or to the Chelsea Market. We particularly loved the coffee at the hotel bar, and the very comfortable platform bed in the room.

Besides being delighted with the area, the service was wonderful - lots of attention to detail (particularly the bar staff), willingness to go the extra mile and stand out in the cold street to hail us a taxi as we got ready, etc. All in all, an excellent stay. We won't be checking into any other hotel next time we are in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Hester,

Thank you so much for you wonderful review of Hotel Americano. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you do choose to return to Americano on your next visit to New York. Please email me directly and I would love to set up your future reservation personally, mdoci@hotel-americano.com

Thank you once again!

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We chose the Hotel Americano for its proximity to the Javits Center (about 10 blocks away) and its location in the Chelsea neighborhood. We wanted a place that would be close and comfortable after a long day at a trade show and was in a neighborhood with nice restaurants and amenities.

Our first impression of the Hotel Americano was that we didn't think we would be able to make it the full 7 days we had booked. But in the end we enjoyed our stay.

The rooms are really small and the bed is a platform on the floor. There is an unfortunate bean bag chair that takes up too much of the minimal space. The mini bar snacks took up most of the tiny desk.

After a little rearranging (ditching the snacks into the rather ample closet) and using the bean bag as a luggage stand, we found we actually had plenty of space for everything.

The rooms are really quite nice with expensive fixtures and nice - albeit minimal - touches. The towels and sheets were fantastic, as was the soap/shampoo and lighting.

There are some inconsistencies however. For some reason, we received a top sheet only every other day. The comforter was rather small so it was a bit uncomfortable without the sheet. The gorgeous geranium scented body wash was only left on some days.

The neighborhood is under construction so there is a lot of noise that starts early and the sound proofing of the hotel is below average for a new hotel. This was not a big issue for us because we were there for work - served as our alarm clock.

We really loved the delis and restaurants in the area. The pizza place across the street was fantastic. And the hotel's food was really good too.

On balance it is about a 3.5 of 5 given the price and some of the issues, but we left with a good impression so I am rounding up.

Don't stay here if you have a bad back and are a light sleeper. Do stay if you want a clean, fun, "designy" oasis in New York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgetF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Bridget,

Thank you for reviewing us, we do carefully read every review that Hotel Americano receives. We are happy to hear that your overall stay with us was enjoyable. We do pride ourselves with being very Design forward, however that doesn't mean we lack a standard for everything else such as service. So, it always helps hearing form our past guests and knowing what areas to keep a close eye on. Thank you once again for your review, and for staying with us. We hope you do return to Hotel Americano in the future.

All the Best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,517 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#100 of 467 in New York City
605 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#153 of 467 in New York City
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
1,790 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#162 of 467 in New York City
1,394 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#158 of 467 in New York City
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Americano

Property: Hotel Americano
Address: 518 W 27th St, New York City, NY 10001-5506
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Americano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing