We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but modern to fault” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Americano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Americano
Ranked #377 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Canton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean but modern to fault”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is new, modern, quiet, and sfaff are very helpful. The price is fair. The rooms are uber modern with a European style that is not very cozy nor efficient. While I liked the cement floor for its cleanliness, there is no true desk or chair and the tiny bathroom sink and floor-level shower lead to water everywhere. There is only one outlet in the bathroom and literally no counter space. Given the minimalist decor, it took some time to find the TV remote tucked away in a cubby on wood platform for the bed.

The Hotel location, while close to the Javits Convention Center, is between 10th and 11th Avenues and in an area that does not seem safe to walk around at night. If you're there for a convention, suggest staying closer to Times Square or another area of mid town and taking taxis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi Liza,

We would like to thank you for staying with us, and for your review of Hotel Americano. We are sorry to hear that you did not find our location to your liking, and did not explore the neighborhood a little further. In fact West Chelsea is known for it's art galleries, the highline, and the Hudson river parks. It is recommended for those who would like to explore New York, outside of the typical tourist attractions, like Times Square.

Thank you again for staying and reviewing us. We do appreciate it.

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    125
    60
    43
    23
See reviews for
17
149
34
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel's web site provides an accurate depiction of the hotel and the facilities it has available to guests. The hotel's booking system is easy to use and allows for changes to the booking to be made.

The hotel is easy to get to and is in a good location.

The hotel is in good condition and overall is a good quality hotel. The rooms are a little small, however if you are traveling as a couple or on your own I do not think you would have any issue with the size of the rooms.

The hotel's staff were helpful, with the exception to the staff that work in the bar on the ground level.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi Brent,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Americano. We always welcome feedback from our guests, and it seems you enjoyed your stay. We are overjoyed to hear that! I hope we became apart of your New York City experience, and you choose to stay with us in the future!

Thank you once again and all the best to you!

Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Don't waste your time at this hotel. It is all looks and that is where it ends. The service is absolutely terrible. Unbelievable attitude from the manager down to the staff. Not sure how they are getting by in a competitive environment like New York City. As a local, I never want to go back there or support this place.

The NoMad and Crosby Street Hotel are two amazing boutique hotels in the city that get it right on all fronts. If you are looking for cool, boutique properties in New York City -- stick with one of those. I will certainly not be returning to Hotel Americano.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barca212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves on service, so it is disappointing to hear that is where you were unsatisfied. I can guarantee that it it's not the norm for Hotel Americano. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future, and change your mind about us. Please contact me directly for a future reservation mdoci@hotel-americano.com

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
HÔTEL AMERICANO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here just before the Christmas holiday for short work/play trip in NYC. Usually stay right in meatpacking district, which is far better location.

Service at the hotel is fantastic (far unlike the Standard and other meatpacking hotels). Everyone from the bellman to the front desk to the bartender were incredibly friendly and helpful. Made you feel welcome and at home.

Rooms are beyond small. May be fine for one person, but challenging for two. No room the bathroom even for your face towel. If you order room service, you have to sit on the bed or some funky beanbag. Design elements don't seem to make up for the size of the room, unlike places in Tokyo.

I would recommend the hotel for the right pice, and only that. If you are going to spend the same per night as the Standard, I'd recommend staying there - better views, better location and even larger rooms (if you can believe that).

Room Tip: Stay here if you get a good deal. Not worth more than $250/night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TFRjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful. Half of the stay in a hotel is the service. I am sorry you did not find Hotel Americano fully satisfying to your needs. We would still love to have you stay with us again on your next trip to New York!

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
HÔTEL AMERICANO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel has character, charm, and a surprising amount of space in its rooms and bathrooms. It is chic and artsy, and we loved it from the moment we walked in the door. We go to new York frequently, and I would say that the Americano has given us the most bang for the budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Mary,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hospitality is truly about the guests and pleasing you, is what our goal is. Thank you for your wonderful review, and we would love if you returned to stay with us again. Please feel free to contact me directly to set up your reservation mdoci@hotel-americano.com

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
HÔTEL AMERICANO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel americano In September 2012. Room was smallish, but modern, clean, and efficient. Location is great for access to the highline. Staff was mostly friendly and helpful. Roof deck was nice. Bar was pricey, but not out of line... welcome to New York. Pool scene was a touch pretentious.
Overall a nice room and decent location. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Scott,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you a pleasant stay with us and we would love to have you stay with us again. Please feel free to contact me if you return to New York mdcoi@hotel-americano.com

All the best
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
HÔTEL AMERICANO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Quite minimalistic design hotel. Great location: highline park very close and meatpacking on walking distance. Staff incredibley friendly and helpfull. À few extra shelfs in the bathroom would be usefull. Nevertheless, great shower, towels, view and room Ipad!! Thanks Americano!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MartijnenLeonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you found your stay with us pleasant and our staff friendly. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Americano

Property: Hotel Americano
Address: 518 W 27th St, New York City, NY 10001-5506
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Americano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing