We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 48LEX New York
Ranked #63 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was a pleasant surprise for one transit night in Manhattan. The hotel is very close to the UN building, Grand Central Station, and all the shopping area around 5th, Park and Madison avenues. I was upgraded to a suite at the 21st floor, which was great at the corner of the building with a lovely view on the East river. There is a lounge area at the second floor where complimentary breakfast is provided (and also cheese and wine in the evening, but I didn’t have the chance to taste it). This seems like a great option for the price, given that anything in the area below 200 dollars involves a shared bathroom! Last but not least staff was very helpful and polite. I will definitely be back and I think it’s a great price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear LadyAbroad,

Thank you for choosing Hyatt 48 Lex for your stayover in NYC! Not to worry, no shared bathrooms here :)

All the best,

Robert Gormley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,545 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Lovely modern hotel with small kitchenette. Fabulous bathroom with large walk in shower. We have stayed in Hyatts before and this one is up with the best. Good location, very attentive staff and lovely atmosphere. Ate at Lexington Brass and this is a fab restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vfrtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Beautiful hotel with floor to ceiling windows. Nice lounge on the second floor with complimentary coffee, pastries, and cheese and crakers. Staff is extremely nice and wants each guest to enjoy their stay. Rooms are clean and spacious and has a stocked bar and Refrigerator, only drawback is you have no space to put your drinks or food items you have purchased. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

There are many positives about this boutique hotel. The rooms were large, comfortable beds, small kitchenette, great espresso machine, friendly staff and good food. If I were to mention a negative, I'd say that my room smelled like moth balls. I suppose I got used to it, because I didn't notice after the first day.
I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Nice hotel. Too bad about Hyatt's billing. I found a good online rate and called Hyatt. The agent heard the quote and agreed. When the receipt came out later, I didn't check it - she billed me at a much higher rate and that's what stands. Lesson learned: I need to supervise Hyatt like a child. After the trip I noticed that they billed me twice for the same night. Unprofessional.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjw420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear rjw420,

I do apologize for the inconvenience and wrong doing that you may have felt transpire during your stay. If you would like to discuss this further please reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,

Kelsey P
Kelsey.pratt@hyatt48lex.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have stayed at this super convenient hotel in mid town on several occasions in recent years, most recently in May 2014, and it never disappoints. Its boutique style suits me as I tend to fly in from the UK for two days of business at a time. The check in is always efficient, the rooms clean and spacious for NYC, the bathrooms good, clean and with good shower pressure. There is a great club lounge on the second floor with wifi and tea/coffee and a fantastic bistro on the ground floor (worth booking for the evenings), but which does a wonderful and reasonably priced breakfast too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrbanTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel was very clean and modern. Nice lounge area on the second floor, which included included complimentary tea, coffee and some snack food. We were disappointed that the staff was not more familiar with the area. We asked for the names of a few local dance clubs but they didn't know of any. And in the morning we asked about a nice place for an organic breakfast and again they didn't know of any place. There are certainly better hotels in NYC in this price range.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongIslandRozina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 470 in New York City
255 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 470 in New York City
2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#43 of 470 in New York City
611 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#104 of 470 in New York City
1,250 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 48LEX New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 48LEX New York

Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $257 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel 48LEX New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 48LEX New York is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 salons and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious bedrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary light continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 48LEX New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing