We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Great Position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 48LEX New York
Ranked #59 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Hotel is located just 5 minutes walking from Grand Central, 5th Avenue, Empire State and Top of the Rock! The rooms are very clean and the bathroom is modern with a nice shower. At the little lounge on the second floor you can get a complimentary coffee or tea as well as fresh fruits and crackers. There is virtually no lobby but the Hotel staff checked us in few minutes and they offered a late check out despite a very busy Holiday season. If you look for a nice Hotel in NW and you do not care about luxury lobbies but you desire clean, comfortable rooms in a great location, this is the one you are probably looking for.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Andrea G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at Hyatt 48 Lex. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the guest rooms as well as the amenities on the second floor lounge. I can't wait to share your kind comments with the team!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards-

Kelsey P
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,485)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 48LEX New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

The staff at Hyatt 48 Lex went the extra mile to make my kids feel so special! After having to wait for our room to become available, Nihaal gave each of our daughters giant two foot long candy necklaces which they thought was pretty cool! While my 7 year old was eating the candy necklace she lost her tooth in the Lexington lounge! Shortly after Nihaal Tandon approached me without my kids around and asked if he could send up cookies and milk as a treat since she lost her tooth. I said of course and sure enough later in the evening cookies and milk arrived and a nice hand written note! The look on my kids face was priceless! We have stayed at many hotels and the service that was provided for our one night stay was truly without a doubt the best we have ever had! Thank you to the incredible staff at Hyatt 48 Lex for making our stay cation one we will never forget. We can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmindy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear kmindy98,

I love your post! Thank you for sharing your story, please come back again soon!

Kelsey P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Nyc for a long weekend. The rooms were clean and very up to date or lets say modern with plenty of charging outlets and usb outlets. The rooms are a bit small, but you can expect that in NYC. There are not much views for majority of the room i was being in glass, but also you are in the heart of NYC. The downstairs lobby is more of a dimly lite lobby with a bench and front desk attendant. Nothing there to really to even sit and have a conversation with a visitor.

Overall a solid small hotel. Not a lot of razzle dazzle, but they have all the major focus points covered and they do them well.

The restaurant Lexington Brass is fantastic. Especially the breakfast, especially the waffles. I am a waffle fanatic and these waffles are hands down top 3 I have ever tried in my life

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebble241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear bebble241,

Thank you for choosing Hyatt 48 Lex for your long weekend getaway. We hope to welcome you back as our guest soon.

Brian T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The taxi driver wasn't sure where the hotel was (even though the clue's in the name - it's on 48th and Lexington) but this is nothing unusual for a New York taxi driver! Once we'd arrived, though, we were quickly checked in. It was about 10:45pm, and the restaurant kitchen was about to close, but the staff made sure they hung on a few minutes while we dumped our stuff and came back down.

The rooms were (and are) very comfortable. Our original stay was for six nights, but a few hours after checking out we discovered that our flights had been postponed and we'd have to stay two more nights. This was no problem for the staff, who found us a couple of very nice rooms for a decent rate for the extra two nights; one was still being cleaned but we simply wandered to the lounge (see later) for a coffee while we waited.

The Lexington Brass (the bar/restaurant) is reasonably priced with good food and drinks; the bar staff are friendly and efficient and the manager, Ken, always willing to help out - for example we were chatting about maybe going to see a local sports event and he ran off and found us a couple of possibilities. The food is very good, they had a decent wine selection, and there were some nice beers on offer too.

The location of the hotel is nicely convenient for tourists; all the popular places are a short walk away (though the locals look at you as if you're mad when you suggest that a couple of hundred yards isn't a long way to walk!). There are also plenty of decent places to eat and drink in the vicinity, so we were able to share ourselves between the on-site facilities and some outside options.

The lounge on the second floor is a nice touch. It's relaxed and has free nibbles/coffee and a member of staff serving alcoholic drinks; the concierge is also based in the lounge and is happy to sort out trips and the like for you. One of the concierges (Vanessa) sorted out our bus tour tickets for us, and the other (Leni) did an excellent job sorting out a New Year's Eve trip that I'd made a mistake on when booking it the previous week. In this latter example Leni was incredibly patient on the phone with the bunch of muppets who were running the tour (the latter had told us: "Come to our office and we'll sort it out", then when we turned up we were told: "Dunno why they sent you here, we don't deal with that tour"). It took her the best part of an hour in all, but she fixed it. Oh, there's also a Mac and a printer in the lounge area, and even during the busy time of year we stayed at the hotel it was usually free - great for printing off boarding passes, attraction tickets and the like.

I think the only thing they actually need to fix is the lifts: sometimes you'll get a lift a few seconds after calling it, but on occasions you understand why the word "interminable" was invented. I actually got used to running up and down the stairs, but I don't think I'd have chosen that option if we'd been on the 20th floor! Some have mentioned that the air-con can be a bit noisy; while it can be, it didn't keep us awake. And yes, $14.95 per day for Wi-Fi is a bit steep but I just bought a $3-per-day SIM from T-Mobile and used my phone as a hotspot (and for the extended part of our stay the hotel provided complimentary Wi-Fi, which I'm using right now as I type this).

In all, though, I really can't think of anything bad to say about the Hyatt 48 Lex. Great location, great staff, comfortable facilities, excellent bar and restaurant. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are some nice suite-style rooms with separate living and sleeping areas.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear David C,

I am thrilled to hear you had such a great experience here at Hyatt 48 Lex! I am glad that you enjoyed all of the amenities in the hotel. It is nice to hear that you had such positive interactions with our hotel staff.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment about your most recent stay with us. Please feel free to reach out to me should your travels bring you back to NYC!

Kind regards-

Kelsey P
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night on business. Great location. Near lots of dining. 2 blocks from Lexington Ave subway and only a couple of more blocks to E train stop to Penn Station.

Great small feel. Gives advantages of chain hotel without the huge feeling of some NYC chain properties. Loved that there were only a handful of rooms per floor.

Service great. Fast and welcoming check in and easy check out. Got a $25 credit with Hyatt Diamond status; loved that this could be used not just on breakfast, but for dinner or a cocktail. Restaurant space was small and stylish; it did not feel like a hotel place.

Room was great. Long and narrow, with floor a to a ceiling windows, it felt like a NYC studio. Nice desk, good lighting, two TVs with awesome AV functions (including music), very comfortable bed, roomy shower. Style was contemporary...stylish and warm. Internet was fast. Only complaint was the HVAC; I was there on a bitter cold night and the unit made loud buzzing noises and produced uneven heat across the space.

Would happily recommend and return!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear brmusicman,

We are happy to hear that you would recommend and return to us should your travels bring you back to NYC-we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Brian T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

First time in NY without a clue what to expect. Arrived at the Hyatt 48 and were greeted immediately by a dark haired young lady (sorry don’t know her name) and had us checked in within 3 or 4 minutes. After unpacking, noticed the safe would not work. On way out to explore notified this young lady and she said I would prefer they repair it in your presence please notify me as soon as you arrive back. As soon as we arrived back, she made sure the service person actually rode up to the room with us and they fixed the safe after obtaining parts. Leaving for a play that night ask a young blonde lady (sorry don’t know her name either) would it take long to call a cab. Again remember I am new to NY. She says oh you need a cab, around the desk she goes and out the doors. I follow to see what just happened and she was already in the middle of the intersection at the corner dodging traffic to flag a cab. Just so happened a cab pulled up where I was standing and we had to go get her out of the traffic. Still tipped her and laughed she was great! Now, about the hotel. Great staff, greeted each time we left and got back. Stayed on 22nd floor and since there are only a few rooms per floor never heard people, hall traffic or opening and closing doors. Elevators were extremely fast, big shower, good pressure, hot water, turn down service each night. We wanted to experience travelling the subway and bus system and the hotel seemed convenient to both. Several small grocery stores nearby and have to say the Chinese grocery on 47th east of Lexington was always open when others weren’t and they were extremely helpful. Management staff should certainly give accolades to the personnel at the reception desk and room service as they were great and besides liking the hotel, the personnel are why I would absolutely stay again. Enjoyed NY and will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dah30fd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear dah30fd,

Thank you for the incredible feedback, I loved your post! We are beyond thrilled to hear about your great experience at Hyatt 48 Lex. Your kind comments will most definitely be celebrated with our team.

Brian T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here two nights during between Christmas and New Years. Let's talk positives first: the rooms are clean and modern with some interesting features -- a dishwasher (?). There are good "hardware" features lots of charging ports, outlets, iron & ironing board, glasses and the location is great. The Brass restaurant is quite good albeit you enter through a curtain (?). The second floor lounge is very nice for morning coffee etc.

Now for the "needs improvements" category: the "software" side of things -- bath amenities are sub par, the towels need a total overhaul, and there is no make up mirror for female baby boomers.

The fitness center is adequate for aerobic activity --2 treads, 2 bike, 2 cross trainers. Not bad but not stellar.

Our rate was good but there seems a real need for more staff and most of all the lobby situation is way too sparse -- it's clean and nice but way too small. They should think about relocating it to the second floor.

I will come back but you should be prepared for a small footprint hotel with adequate features. If they address some of the "software" items it can be even better.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank CGCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear CGCx,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Hyatt 48 Lex. We are continuously striving to improve both the hotel and customer service and your comments help us create a better Hyatt.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Brian T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 468 in New York City
2,710 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#48 of 468 in New York City
1,428 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#52 of 468 in New York City
192 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#32 of 468 in New York City
1,827 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 468 in New York City
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 48LEX New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 48LEX New York

Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in New York City
#52 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $283 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel 48LEX New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 48LEX New York is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 salons and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious bedrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary light continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 48LEX New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing