We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 48LEX New York
Nearby Hotels
$316
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$262
$237
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$228
$205
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$177
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$400
$341
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,635)
Filter reviews
1,635 results
Traveler rating
1,024
416
121
45
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,024
416
121
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecond floor loungecorner suitenew yorkwine and cheese hourfloor to ceiling windowsboutique hotellarge showergrand hyattcoffee machinemini bargrand central stationlounge areabeautiful roomsmall hotelmidtown manhattanstreet noisedefinitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,104 - 1,109 of 1,635 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2013

There's lots that is enjoyable about this well-located Midtown Manhattan hotel - but there are also aspects which hold it back from being as good as it could be.

As a start, the rooms were comfortable and well-appointed to some extent. However, they also suffered from, for example, the kitchenette having no plates or cutlery available - what is the use of a microwave if you can't eat off or with anything? I was by myself on a business trip but if I was on holiday with my spouse, the wardrobe would have been too small even though it was a King Room. The bathroom was a real highlight: good size, well-appointed, good storage - but the water flow from the shower was variable. Regardless of the time of day or evening, the hot & cold water would come and go, and the water pressure kept changing.

In terms of staff, I was disappointed in terms of Hyatt standard. No-one told me that there was a lounge with a basic continental breakfast, mid-afternoon coffee or early evening cheese & crackers. Having read this subsequently, I feel very cheated in light of the quite high room rate. In addition, on the first night of my four-night stay the hotel was having an "IT problem" which meant there was no WiFi, no TV, no phone - nothing worked - which meant I couldn't do any work, I couldn't watch any TV and after a 22-hour flight, I couldn't get room service until I went back downstairs to ask for it. As a minimum, Hyatt should have given each guest a complimentary bottle of wine; at best, Hyatt should have offered a discount for the inconvenience - and, in a way, false advertising.

Hopefully, these are teething problems that can be worked-out. The hotel seemed fairly new and the staff quite inexperienced, but the basics are right and there's potential for improvement.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2,093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear 2093,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the room. I also want to extend my apologies about the issues you experienced during your stay.

Please feel free to reach out to me personally. I would like to further discuss your stay and help restore your faith in Hyatt 48 Lex.

Sincerely,

Kelsey Pratt
Assistant Front Office Manager
Kelsey.pratt@hyatt48lex.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I would call this a boutique-styled hotel: there's no grand lobby, but thoughtful and elegant touches in small details. We were at a normal room: quite small but that is expected for NYC. It is however well decorated with high quality materials from linens to metal handle in bathroom. I also like the wine rack and colorfully tiled bathroom walls (see photos). The iPhone speaker player looks fancy, has a remote and generates decent sound. The bath toiletries have room for improvement though. There's also free pastry and coffee (for every one) in the lounge. I would give this 4.5 rating if that's allowed, which means it is better than my usual 4-star rated hotels because of the many fine details, but not quite the 5-star "WOW" experience yet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drpoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Duxingzhe,

Thank you for your kind comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards-

Kelsey
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Newer hotel, very clean, quiet and comfy. Only a few rooms per floor, no long hallways, very easy to come and go. I have stayed at this property a few times and the staff is wonderful. Has a second floor lounge that provides light breakfast and newspapers and afternoon coffee and tea and will lend you and I-pad. Great location, close to all but in a less hectic area. It has gotten to be spendy of late but it's worth it. Has a room small room safe.

Room Tip: Had a view of the East River from upgraded room. Nice
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wes p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review, hope you stay with us again soon.

Regards,

KP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A perfect place to stay...great location, small and boutique...not loud and over crowded and terrific staff. Carlos always arranges a great room and even has early check ins. The rest of the staff is always smiling and eager to assist. Concierge lounge is most comfortable.
Easy walk to the theater and shopping. What more could you want!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCTravel0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for the kind comments and 5 star review! We hope you will return soon.

Kind regards-

Kelsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a very nice hotel IF you're a business traveler. My husband and I stayed in a double with a king bed (the bed was extremely comfortable!). There was a large built-in desk (unnecessarily large?) but only one chair in the room--a desk chair. So a second person had no choice but to sit on the bed. I asked for an additional chair and one was brought immediately but it was small and shabby and not at all comfortable. There was inadequate room for two persons' clothes and the armoire was not lit so it was difficult to see inside. In fact, the whole room was too dark--no overhead light and fairly dim bedside and desk lights. The bar area, like the desk, was really too large for what was essentially a small room.
Here are the great features of this hotel: wonderful location (very central), excellent friendly service, and a second-floor lounge with lots of comfy furniture and an expresso machine available to guests 24/7. Rolls, juice, and fruit are set out every day for breakfast (not a munificent continental but adequate); sweets set out mid-afternoon; and cheese, crackers, and fruit in the early evening. Very, very welcome in expensive New York!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannafrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear joannafrancis,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your visit. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our Lexicon Lounge and the amenities. I do apologize that you experienced issues with your guest room. Should your travels bring you back to NYC please feel free to reach out to me personally for any assistance you may need.

Kind Regards,

Kelsey P
Assistant Front Office Manager
Kelsey.pratt@hyatt48lex.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews