We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 48LEX New York
Nearby Hotels
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$318
$296
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$170
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lucerne Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$322
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Muse Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$267
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$201
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$302
$269
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness center
Stewart Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Kimberly Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$279
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$303
$254
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$420
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,648)
Filter reviews
1,648 results
Traveler rating
1,032
418
123
46
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
418
123
46
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecond floor loungecorner suitenew yorkwine and cheese hourfloor to ceiling windowsboutique hotellarge showergrand hyattcoffee machinemini bargrand central stationlounge areabeautiful roomsmall hotelmidtown manhattanstreet noisedefinitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,121 - 1,126 of 1,648 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt 48 and Lex for two nights, Oct 25 and 26. When I was researching hotels in Midtown, I noticed that most reviewers were complaining about bathroom size, so when I saw the pictures of the large bathrooms in this hotel, I kept it in mind.

The hotel is great; clean rooms, roomy bathrooms, really friendly staff. It is very quiet. My friends stayed at the Hilton Midtown which was gigantic and crowded and noisy, so I appreciated the smaller, and quieter Hyatt. Kiara at the front desk checked us in a couple of hours early and was very attentive to all our needs.

The only thing I would have to say negative abou the hotel is the spa is small. It has enough equipment to be servicable, but the pictures make it look better then it is.

If we go back to New York, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kekoa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Kekoa T,

Wow! Thank you for the 5 star rating and awesome comments! I am so glad you enjoyed your weekend with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kelsey
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

A group of us recently stayed here and found it ideally situated. New York attractions were close by and walkable. The hotel was impeccably clean, modern and safe. Very pleasant, helpful and polite staff. Nice large rooms. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V0yager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear V0yager1,

Thank you for the kind words and recommendation! Please visit us again soon.

Regards,

Kelsey P
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed five nights recently and loved this hotel. We stay in Hyatt's very often and the experience here was one of the best. Hotel staff member Nihal provided us with over the top service, even for a service-oriented city like New York. All the staff were very pleasant, asking how we were enjoying our stay, and seemed genuinely interested in our feedback. The room as VERY quiet, clean, and well-designed. The oversized shower was great and a pleasant surprise for NYC. Great location near the Lexington subway and Grand Central.

The lounge on the 2nd floor was a nice place to hang out. Being gluten-free, we greatly appreciated the effort the staff made to provide us with morning gluten-free pastries.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longtimeresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear longtimeresident,

Thank you for the fantastic comments! We appreciate your loyalty to Hyatt and we strive to be a choice hotel in New York City. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

Kelsey P
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice hotel, clean rooms, good location and bit peaceful as about 10 - 15 mins away from times square. Very central as well. Just be prepared to walk and you will have a great time and same time getting stuck in cabs in newyork traffic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cool18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Cool18,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our guest rooms and amenities. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Kelsey P
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a great experience at the Hyatt 48 Lex. You're immediately greeted as you walk in the door and enter the very small lobby with a few concierges on laptops. We had a pre-paid reservation and the check-in was smooth and we were offered a complimentary glass of wine and escorted to a second floor lounge as we were early and our room wasn't quite ready. Service was great from beginning to end. We had asked for additional toiletries and they promptly delivered them. The room was well appointed with a bar area, refrigerator and coffee maker by the door leading to a sitting area and large TV, and a separate bedroom area. Pocket doors made everything sleek, and seem spacious. The room was small, as you expect in the city but seemed spacious with plenty of room for 2 women sharing a space. It had a beautiful view on the 18th floor. The restaurant was convenient, though expensive, however there was a continental breakfast available in the second floor lounge. Everyone was very friendly, there were no surprises at checkout and the concierge went out of her way to flag down a cab for us on our way out. It was also very secure, you need a room key to get beyond the 2nd floor. It was a short walk away from the theater district and some great restaurants but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: SInce it's a tall narrow hotel the rooms all seem to be facing one way, all probably have a great view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsBonVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear MsBonVoyage,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your kind comments and feedback about your visit. We are glad to hear you had a great experience interacting with our hosts and concierge. We strive to be a choice hotel in NYC and I look forward to sharing your excellent feedback with the rest of our team.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Kelsey P
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews