We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt's interpretation of a boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 48LEX New York
Ranked #60 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hyatt's interpretation of a boutique hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hyatt's small hotel on 48th & Lex. is a great hotel, why? Great mid-town location, close to Grand Central Station and a five minute jog from Central Park. My room was decent sized, modern and well appointed. I got a great rate from the Hyatt webpage when I booked a couple of months in advance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! It was a pleasure having you.

Regards,

BT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    368
    103
    40
    24
See reviews for
232
549
75
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here on 2 occasions and it's a perfect little hotel for new York.

Great location, fantastic service, really friendly staff and small but really good rooms.

Overall, great value and we will always choose it when we are in NYC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanmac1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear alanmac1976,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your most recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed the location and service from out hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Kelsey P
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This Hyatt has it right. The place has a boutique hotel atmosphere and service without the postage stamp size rooms so prevalent in current, hip hotels. It can be a little tough to find at first, especially if you're driving, because the entrance blends into the surrounding buildings to a great extent. Parking, as always, is expensive.

So what makes Hyatt 48 Lex so good? Modern, comfortable rooms with well designed bathrooms. Excellent TV and pay-per-view programming. Staff members who are attentive, professional and well trained. In that vein, special thanks to Cody at the front desk for giving me a perfect Studio King on an upper floor that was remarkably quiet. Another employee worth mentioning was Jose in the 2nd floor guest lounge, who shared delightful conversation after providing a well-chosen glass of wine. Good luck in grad school!

Will I return to Hyatt 48 Lex the next time I book an East Side/midtown stay? That would be a yes. It may have fewer bells and whistles, but it's light years ahead of the much larger Hyatt Grand Central. Give it a try!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NooYawkMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Noo YawkMama,

Wow-thank you for the 5 star review! We are beyond thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for the kind words about the guest room and hotel staff. We would love the chance to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,

Kelsey P
Assistant Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt 48 Lex for two nights. We booked a 1-bedroom corner suite and received one on the 14th floor. The lobby and check-in area was very small and we weren't sure we were in the right place at first, but once a clerk came out, he made us feel right where we belonged. The computers were having issues when we arrived to check-in, but Raymond was very professional and went out of his way to make sure we got settled in and getting a crib set up for our son. Our floor was high enough to not hear much street noise, and the room felt well-insulated anyways. The suite was a decent size for NYC, and the room had a very functional layout given the space. The best part about the room are the amazingly large, floor-to-ceiling windows. Especially being on a corner, our son loved looking down onto the street traffic. The bathroom was very modern and the bed was also quite comfortable.

The location in Midtown East was very convenient. We were just a few blocks up from the Chrysler building and within walking distance to every sight we wanted to visit. The hotel's second floor, which others here have mentioned, has a wonderful lounge, business center, and coffee/espresso machine. At various times during the day, there were breakfast/snacks, and everything was included in our stay. Great hotel - we'll definitely consider staying here again next time we're in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NourishingGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey P, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear NourishingGrace,

Happy Fall! Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the guest room, lounge, and the amenities with the lounge. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Kelsey Pratt
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a fantastic hotel! My boyfriend and I stayed here for 8 days whilst visiting NYC. The Hyatt made our stay, the staff were so helpful and friendly and the rooms were so clean and comfortable.

We came and went as we pleased and never received bad service in eight days. They were very accommodating and on our last day we checked out at 10am and they were more than happy to look after our bags for us until we got our flight at 3pm.

Opposite is a fantastic place for breakfast/brunch and lots close by, the staff are very happy to pass on local knowledge and we are returning next year and will be staying again.

Can't recommend the Hyatt 48 Lex enough!

Only slight complaint would be that I had to pay for Wifi but that was it :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cotswoldfoodie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Couldnt have said it better myself, we strive to be hotel of choice while traveling to NYC!

Regards,

BT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Hyatt 48 Lex provided me with an excellent experience from start to finish. The staff was super professional, from Sherone at check-in to the housekeeping staff. I appreciate their attention to detail and the consistency that they offer; this was my second visit to the property and it was another great stay. I love the amenities from the Lexicon Lounge to the quality appliances in the room (i.e. the stainless steel dishwasher, microwave, and refrigerator). I also love the welcoming touches they provide, like the welcome with your name on the television screen in your room when you arrive and the pleasant music playing in the background. The television is quality with great station offerings (including HGTV, Bravo, National Geographic, etc.). What can I say...I really enjoy the property and hope that they continue to take good care of it and maintain it over the years.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on tripadvisor - It was a pleasure having you.

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

48 Lex is a great choice in Midtown! We spent three nights and were very pleased. Staff was attentive and professional. Rooms were large by NYC standards with beautiful modern furnishings. The check in area is small but I think it was a plus because the lounge on the second floor rather than adjacent to reception added to the privacy. The lounge has a coffee / expression machine which is a great. We had no problems with noise at at all. Great location, value and design. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Sign up for Hyatt's frequent traveler program and might be able to upgrade to a higher floor if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Es-bibe-lude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Greetings from Hyatt 48! Thanks for your review.

Regards,

BT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#92 of 467 in New York City
2,654 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 467 in New York City
1,396 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 467 in New York City
936 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
1,698 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#52 of 467 in New York City
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 48LEX New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 48LEX New York

Property: Hotel 48LEX New York
Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in New York City
#52 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel 48LEX New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 48LEX New York is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 salons and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious bedrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary light continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 48LEX New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing