We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 48LEX New York
Ranked #78 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Long Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hyatt 48 for just one night to join family in from out-of-town, (we live on LI). Booked the regular room and could not have been happier. Checked in a little early, room was ready and what a surprise. Excellent room. Spacious, new fixtures and roomy. Room was on the 19th floor, overlooking 48th Street. Very, very quiet. Could not hear any street noise, (may have been the high floor), and in NY that's a plus after all the walking & sightseeing. My wife and I were impressed. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konablues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    350
    100
    38
    23
See reviews for
202
506
71
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Four Corners, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was very pleased. Check-in was courteous and I was upgraded even though I booked through Priceline. Often, when using Priceline, a hotel will give you the worse room in the house so this was a really pleasent and appreciated surprise.

The room was quite large and well-decorated. The bathroom was also good sizedl and everything was very clean.

Each member of the staff I had contact with was very nice. In the afternoon, the hotel set out some complimentary refreshments which were apprecaited in the midst of a NYC heat-wave.

Location was great, hotel was great and the staff was great. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamienHarveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWagnerHyatt48Lex, General Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the accolades as they are greatly appreciated. Our staff is contstantly trying to prvide such experiences and always welcome this type of feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just recently stayed here for a quick last minute NYC weekend trip with zero expectations. This place was a very pleasant surprise! Not only were the amenities nice and modern, but the staff was extremely accommodating. Plus, the location was great.

Since our room wasn't ready when we arrived to check-in, we were upgraded to another room AND sent up a complimentary bottle of wine. The manager went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable. Kudos to the the staff and I will definitely recommend this boutique hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenfervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fabulous boutique hôtel! Family vacation so we stayed in one of their suites. Suite was large and modern with lots of amenities. Great location for exploring New York but not noisy in the least while sleeping at night. Excellent service, helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are currently staying here for 2 nights, after the first night we are very pleased with the hotel & staff. The little extras through out the day on the 2nd floor is a very nice option (coffee & espresso)
The rooms are very nice, the AC system works well & is quiet

The staff did miss place our bags when we checked in, however, they did make sure it was addressed immediately

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babakati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWagnerHyatt48Lex, General Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Babakati,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at our hotel. I am very sorry that we created the inconvenience of temporarily misplacing your luggage but am equally glad to see we were able to rectify the situation quickly. Thank you once again for the fedback and we look forward to providing you with accomodations in the city in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just came back from two nights at the Hyatt 48 Lex. We made the reservation through Jetsetter and I chose a slightly larger room (called a Lexington Studio) than the basic model. The room was great -- glass on two sides, with a mini kitchen with microwave and tiny dishwasher. It was light and airy -- unusual for midtown Manhattan hotels in my experience. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom and shower commodious, and there was a good amount of room to spread out. The only negatives were (1) that there were only two elevators, which made trips up and down a bit trying; and (2) the hotel does not have bathtubs which was a disappointment to this bath addict (though the excellent shower somewhat made up for that). The price was very moderate by NYC standards, and the location couldn't have been better. I highly recommend Hyatt 48 Lex.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a Lexington Studio room, but since I didn't see other rooms, I don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khakio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWagnerHyatt48Lex, General Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Kakio

Thank you very much for the kind words and recommendation. We hope to be able to welcome you again as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very last minute I had to arrange to fly in to New York for a meeting and needed to be in Midtown, found a fabulous little boutique hotel, 161 compact but wall to wall masculine interior designed room with a great perfectly designed little kitchen, fridge, coffee maker and dishwasher all so amazingly hidden so one isn't looking at it when you're in bed. Huge walk-in shower, could have had a party in that and it all worked because the lighting was expertly positioned and all was brand new.
The staff I couldn't have felt more like a princess, Tommy particularly was outstanding and all clearly revelled in their job.
fabulous brasserie, and what made it truly work was the business and social lounge of the second floor, my meetings where impressed and I was moments away from running around after them via there showroom in Park Avenue, I WILL be back...
A little note, If you're a member and can book through The British Airways Executive Club you instantly get a King Suite.
Great City and still had time to get my fix of being a bit of a Culture Vulture and pop along to MOMA....

Room Tip: Book Through British Airways or fly British Airways as you then automatically have a King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotty1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWagnerHyatt48Lex, General Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Lotty1971,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at the hotel. We are very happy to hear that you will join us again when your travels bring you back to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 48LEX New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 48LEX New York

Property: Hotel 48LEX New York
Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#62 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel 48LEX New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 48LEX New York is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 salons and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious bedrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary light continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 48LEX New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing