We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room to breath in a modern NYC hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 48LEX New York
Ranked #63 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just came back from two nights at the Hyatt 48 Lex. We made the reservation through Jetsetter and I chose a slightly larger room (called a Lexington Studio) than the basic model. The room was great -- glass on two sides, with a mini kitchen with microwave and tiny dishwasher. It was light and airy -- unusual for midtown Manhattan hotels in my experience. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom and shower commodious, and there was a good amount of room to spread out. The only negatives were (1) that there were only two elevators, which made trips up and down a bit trying; and (2) the hotel does not have bathtubs which was a disappointment to this bath addict (though the excellent shower somewhat made up for that). The price was very moderate by NYC standards, and the location couldn't have been better. I highly recommend Hyatt 48 Lex.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a Lexington Studio room, but since I didn't see other rooms, I don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khakio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWagnerHyatt48Lex, General Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Kakio

Thank you very much for the kind words and recommendation. We hope to be able to welcome you again as our guest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very last minute I had to arrange to fly in to New York for a meeting and needed to be in Midtown, found a fabulous little boutique hotel, 161 compact but wall to wall masculine interior designed room with a great perfectly designed little kitchen, fridge, coffee maker and dishwasher all so amazingly hidden so one isn't looking at it when you're in bed. Huge walk-in shower, could have had a party in that and it all worked because the lighting was expertly positioned and all was brand new.
The staff I couldn't have felt more like a princess, Tommy particularly was outstanding and all clearly revelled in their job.
fabulous brasserie, and what made it truly work was the business and social lounge of the second floor, my meetings where impressed and I was moments away from running around after them via there showroom in Park Avenue, I WILL be back...
A little note, If you're a member and can book through The British Airways Executive Club you instantly get a King Suite.
Great City and still had time to get my fix of being a bit of a Culture Vulture and pop along to MOMA....

Room Tip: Book Through British Airways or fly British Airways as you then automatically have a King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotty1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWagnerHyatt48Lex, General Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Lotty1971,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at the hotel. We are very happy to hear that you will join us again when your travels bring you back to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Loved this hotel, extremely comfortable and rooms were spacious for New York. Beds were fantastic and our room boasted a view of the gorgeous Chrysler building. This hotel definitely enhanced our New York experience. Pure pleasure to stay here and walking distance to all the sites we wanted to visit. Will definitely stay here again - I hope sometime soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Chrsyler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thanks for your review, and we hope you return again soon as well.

Regards,

Hyatt 48 Lex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

First of all the fiction.........

you turn up at the airport for your flight and the airline inform you that they are going to 'upgrade' you; for the same price they are going to send you to a place you haven't booked; involving many additional miles in the air; they thought you'd be pleased!

having arrived you go to the cinema, buy a ticket for the film you want and just as you are about to enter the theatre the management announce that they have 'upgraded' you to another film that is many minutes longer; a bargain!; they thought you'd be pleased!

anyway on the way home from the cinema you pop in to a bookshop to buy the latest from your favourite author; however at the checkout they tell me that you have been 'upgraded' and can now take home a much longer book for the same price as my preferred book!; they thought you'd be pleased.

you get the idea. one mans upgrade is another man being short changed. and of course deep down you know that all 'upgrades' are really for the convenience of the supplier; not you the customer. but you did know that right?

anyway enough of the fiction. back to the real world.

i'd booked the Hyatt 48 Lex online; a king studio with a quiet room on an upper floor requested; one of the '03' rooms; two nights. i arrived at c7pm on Saturday to be told i'd been 'upgraded' to a corner suite on the 4th floor. i've stayed here before; i know the score. if i'd wanted a corner suite i'd have booked one; i didn't; and i certainly didn't want a 4th floor room. having respectfully requested that i only wanted the room that i'd booked ; the booking that had been accepted, i was told that would not be possible; there was a problem. they had given my pre booked room to someone else and i was stuck with a room i didn't want. no way out. the guy on the desk ( let's call him John ) was very open and helpful; showing me a number of rooms that were available (many of a lower class than i'd booked; with no guarantee that i'd have any sort of refund). the 4th floor corner suite was the best available ; and hey it had a terrace ( that would be the terrace that overlooked a very noisy Lexington Avenue and opposite a very noisy ICH ). i had chosen a king studio specifically because it overlooked 48th street.

so i can only conclude that booking a particular type of room at this hotel is no guarantee that the room will be available for you when you show up. be warned.

fairs fare though; they did give me free wi-fi by way of compensation!!( NB when will hotels please stop charging for wi-fi!!)

now the hotel itself. reasons i come back to this hotel are that it has excellent soundproofing ( although i'd avoid the 2 top floors as even its soundproofing gets defeated by the services on top of the ICH for those rooms facing Lexington Avenue ) and the air con works well.

the rooms are fine with some nice touches but are got as spacious or well appointed as its sister hotel The Andaz. likewise the services available in the hotel are not as good as those at The Andaz. 48 Lex has a diner attached and a small lounge for guests on the second floor; perfectly fine but not something that will continue to draw you back. there is a small gym in the basement.

so it's up to you. a perfectly ok hotel, well located, nice staff, some ok amenities. but me, i avoid places where something as basic as checking in and getting what you've paid for is just hassle; particularly when you are already paying a premium over the mainstream mid town hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britpop101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are terrible sorry we upgraded your guest room - I am not sure if you are a Hyatt Gold Passport Member, but if you are not may I suggest signing up so you can set up a profile with your room type preferences. In addition, after 5 eligible stays or 15 eligible nights in any Hyatt, members receive comp WIFI at all Hyatts

Regards,

Brian Twomey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This Hyatt is meant for business travelers and those on the Go - not 5star over the top luxury, but beautiful modern design in an efficient space that is comfortable and with outstanding service. There is no official breakfast here, but the 2nd floor lounge has a selection of fruit and pastries along with fresh juices in the morning, and other snacks in the afternoon (plus tea/coffee/espresso/latte/cappucinos 24/7). Rooms are very comfortable with modern design, and the location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thanks for the shout out! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Hyatt 48 Lex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is situated in a cluster of midtown that while not as bad as times square is one of the less charming areas of the city right next to multiple other hotels and grand central. all very safe but lots and lots of tourists. The rooms are good and by new york standards very spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful and kicks the place up a notch.

A very good choice if you are in town for a few days and need a good base to get around. the food in the attached resteraunt was not particularly impressive but this is NYC what was I doing eating in anyway!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thanks for your review! Look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Brian Twomey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is fairly new, so the rooms & general hotel decor are very nice. Our room was on the 8th floor, it wasn't the biggest, but this is New York and to be expected. Most importantly to us, it was well air conditioned and must have been sound proofed. We were the nearest room to the elevator (room no 805) & never heard a thing, so you do get very good night's sleep on the really comfortable bed.

Housekeeping was excellent, any time we returned to the room throughout our 6 night stay, the room was always clean, tidy and welcoming.

We enjoyed using the Lexicon Lounge on the 2nd floor, particularly the coffee machine but would agree with previous reviewers that this space would make an ideal full service bar in the evenings, rather than just the beer and wine which were available for purchase.

Things we didn't like :- the one major thing was the hotel's wi-fi. Nowhere on the hotel site is it made clear that this has to be paid for, but earlier reviews on here had indicated it was $14.99 a night, so fair enough we expected that & are used to paying resort fees anyway. It works okay, but is a bit cumbersome to log-on. The worst aspect was, after paying for the wi-fi, discovering it can only be used by one device at at time. I have stayed in hotels all over and never encountered this before. So if you both have an iPhone, iPad etc, be aware that for a couple to use these simultaneously, the hotel expects you to pay for wi-fi for each of them, which really is quite ridiculous. We ended up only buying the wi-fi for part of our stay, as it was cheaper to eat breakfast somewhere with free wi-fi that we could both use, than to pay for the in room wi-fi, which was a disappointment and spoiled our stay a bit. These days, overseas travelers especially, rely on wi-fi to pick up e-mails, contact home etc & this policy needs to be re-thought. Surely after paying for it, 2 people should be able to use it.

Other than this, the only other negative, which was a minor thing for us, but perhaps not for others, was the bathroom products, including toiletries, towels, toilet roll etc all felt very cheap and budget hotel like - not what you would expect in a hotel of this price/standard.

We would come back here as it was a nice place, in a good location, but only if the wi-fi situation was resolved, as this is important to us iPhone addicts.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilVegasFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thanks for your comments - we are looking into your WIFI concerns.

However, may I suggest signing up for Hyatt Gold Passport. (Loyalty Programs) After 5 eligible stays or 15 eligible nights in any Hyatt, members receive comp WIFI at all Hyatts

Regards,

Brian Twomey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#43 of 470 in New York City
256 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#100 of 470 in New York City
2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 470 in New York City
613 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 48LEX New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 48LEX New York

Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
#90 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $254 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel 48LEX New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 48LEX New York is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 salons and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious bedrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary light continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 48LEX New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing