We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and cool hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 48LEX New York
Ranked #63 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location and cool hotel”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after reading a good review in the London press. We were very impressed. We had a room which was beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated. We had a balcony ! How unusual is that in New York! We stayed for 2 nights to do some Christmas shopping and this hotel made our trip special. I wanted to particularly thank the staff who were amazingly helpful and charming. Ive been to New York on short vacation trips at least 5 times and usually i gind new york hotels awfully cramped and very overpriced. Not so with the Hyatt Lex 48. We will return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for all your kind words - Glad to hear you enoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back for the 2013 Shopping Season.

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    360
    102
    39
    23
See reviews for
213
534
73
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Visited over memorial weekend. without exception perfect service from every member of staff from reception to the lovely Walter the bartender. nice sized rooms very clean . Great advice from reception. Greeted every time we came into hotel and wished a great time every time we left. Perfect trip cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 15th floor 1501 and it was lovely with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkmouseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your 5 Star Review! Hope your travels bring you back this way soon.

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed one night over Memorial Day weekend. Only six rooms on a floor which gave a sense of exclusivity. Bathrooms modern and tastefully done as were the rooms generally. Very clean, modern appliances, could even order takeout and reheat in the microwave. Lounge on 2nd floor is a great place to hang out. Dual health clubs in the cellar (one for aerobics, one for weights) were of modest size but were uncrowded and equipment was in excellent condition. Felt a bit like a W without all the attitiude (loud beating lobby music, etc.). Strongly recommend for something different than a big NYC hotel and at a fair price! Look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We look forward to your return as well, and thanks for the review!

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for the first time over the weekend and had a fantastic experience! All staff members seemed intent on making sure our stay was the best it could be. Jose at check-in was especially helpful and pleasant. The 2nd floor lounge is an unexpected treat. We will always consider this hotel for future trips to NYC!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your review, as well as your shout out about Jose! We look foward to celebrating your comments with him.

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in this supebly located Boutique style hotel. The staff were young vibrant professional and friendly, always taking time to say hello and a quick chat.
The second floor lounge was most welcoming with all the positive comments of other reviewers. I think we were upgraded to a premium studio which is on the 22nd floor with absolutely no external or internal noise whatsoever. Not often there is a dishwasher in a hotel room to go with a well selected wine rack, fridge, coffee machine and sink. I suspect there are few hotels offering rooms of this size in NYC.
We booked the flight and hotel deal with BA and I suspect it was much cheaper than booking hotel separate.
It was really well located close to all the main mid town attractions yet not on the main drag as it were. The subway for the E line was only a 10/12 minute walk and that takes you down the centre of Manhatten to the World Trade Centre and to JFK. We used this line only for the full duration of the visit as it took us close enough to everywhere we needed to visit. All in all,a worthwhile hotel to consider.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teearr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your comments and we are glad to hear you enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer. Hope your travels bring you back soon.

Regards,

BT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for five nights, part business and part pleasure. This hotel has a great feel to it, great concierge and reception staff who were always attentive and helpful. Stayed in a corner room on the 7th floor and having stayed in many NY hotels was very impressed with the size and layout. Perfect wifi with no problems. Neat little lounge on the second floor with coffee, juices and food available throughout the day. Great location, out of the hustle of mainstream manhattan, but close enough to explore very easily. Highly recommended, Hyatt do it again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms - ending 01.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed one night in Hyatt 48 Lex. The feeling upon arrival is quite boutiquish, as you enter a very small lobby and the reception staff will greet you with a personal touch.
The room itself was a bit disappointing. We booked a corner suite, so we were expecting to find a somehow special room. Unfortunately, there was nothing particularly noteworthy in the room, and it was smaller than we expected. (Please note the room was nice – comfortable, very new and clean – it was just a problem of expectations management)
Location is quite good if you want to explore NY walking.
We didn’t try the restaurant nor breakfast.
On the negative side, I didn’t enjoy the fact that the hotel tried to charge us a handling fee per delivered item – I have been sending packages to hotels in the US for a long time, and they never tried to charge me anything for it. Since I had already paid a good amount for the room, I felt I was being “robbed”.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtrav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#95 of 468 in New York City
2,606 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#99 of 468 in New York City
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,374 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#50 of 468 in New York City
1,643 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#54 of 468 in New York City
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 48LEX New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 48LEX New York

Property: Hotel 48LEX New York
Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel 48LEX New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 48LEX New York is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 salons and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious bedrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary light continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 48LEX New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing