We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 48LEX New York
Ranked #59 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great location, without the impersonal 'airport terminal' feel of the Grand Hyatt at GTC. Nice package includes a shirt pressing each day & meal voucher. Room was clean, comtemporary & well laid out. housekeeping was great.

The in-house gym is limited, but they have an arrangement with the NY Sports Club close by for $20 / day that works well.

The staff were attentive & helpful.

The only downside was the restaurant, doesn't open for breakfast until 7am, also the restaurant was close (booked out for a private party) one evening & the hotel staff seemed uncooordinated about alternative arrangements. I was tempted to knock one star off for this, but everything else was top knotch, hence the excellent rating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hutchero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your 5 Star Review! I was happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,

Brian Twomey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,484)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 48LEX New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was a great hotel in a perfect location. We were just a few blocks from a subway station, shopping, dining, Time Square, etc. We got the corner suite on the 10th floor and the view was great without too much noise. The suite has a sitting room, which was nice, and more space than I expected for hotel room in NYC. There are only a few rooms per floor, so it has the feel of a boutique hotel, and was very quiet and clean. The restaurant on the ground floor looked pretty cool and was almost always bustling, but we had reservations other places so we never got a chance to try it. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get the corner suite on the 10th floor or higher
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chs_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thanks for your comments!

Hope you stay with us again soon...

Brian Twomey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hyatt Lex for 5 nights on with my daughter. My immediate impression was the warm and friendly greeting from Jose and Sal in the lobby. I appreciated them introducing themselves and offering to help in any way. Our Studio King was a nice size with a great view of the city. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was large with a very roomy shower. Everything was impeccably clean which is a must! The location is great and Grand Central is a short walk away. One noticeable feature was that the hotel was completely quiet...no street noise could be heard, nor could we hear other guests from our floor (each floor only has 5-6 rooms). My favorite amenity was the Lexicon Lounge on the 2nd floor which offered a variety of coffees, pastries, fruit, and juice as well as appetizers in the afternoon. Every staff member we encountered spoke to us without exception. I'm sure this becomes somewhat tedious to them but it was much appreciated by me....these little things make a difference. I will most definitely stay at Hyatt 48 Lex in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thnak you for your shout out! Look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,

Brian Twomey
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I don't need to talk about the location -- it's very good. I was upgraded to the penthouse and that was great. The room was amazing, huge, with a really comfy bed, and had a terrace (unfortunately it was too cold to lie outside).

But just that.

The staff was unhelpful and even a little bit unpleasant. Elevators were not working properly all the time. And this is not exactly a cheap hotel.

The "average" rating I'm giving to this property is mainly based on the penthouse experience (which indeed was very nice). Otherwise I'd likely give a "poor" grade.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Sorry to hear you didn’t like your stay with us. Here at the 48 Lex, our patrons/guests are our first priority and I am terrible sorry to hear you did receive that level of service. Should your travels bring you back to the New York Area, we would like the opportunity to restore your faith in the Hyatt 48 Lex.

Brian C. Twomey
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just arrived home from our stay at the Hyatt 48 Lex, and we could not have been happier.

I've stayed in several hotels in New York, of similar price point/star rating and location, and this has easily have been the best.

Upon arrival we were greeted by 2 friendly, efficient and knowledgable staff on the front desk, who set the tone for the rest of our interactions with the team there. Our room certainly had a 'wow' factor when we went in; we weren't expecting this size of room for the price we paid. Obviously, this is a new hotel, so you expect it to be clean and in good condition, as this was, with a great finish. The mini bar was well stocked, and reasonably priced and little things like the umbrella in the cupboard are nice touches.

The bed was very comfortable, the shower is spacious with great room and there is plenty of storage. If anything, the water pressure is low, but that's kind of part and parcel of a stay in NYC.


The Lexicon Lounge on 2 is a really great touch, with nice coffee, fresh fruit and a good selection of snacks brought in through the day (the blondies were amazing!) and it's a great place to meet up with friends or finish a busy day.


Next time I'm looking for a hotel, Hyatt 48 Lex will be my first port of call in Uptown. It's a short walk from Times Square, Grand Central, Rockerfeller Centre, 5th Ave and Central Park. Subway stop on 53rd gives good links via the E train, to JFK. And again, the staff were superb. Wish I'd got names to pass on praise to the management.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DarrenBailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your most recent stay with us! We are excited about your comments, and look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards,

Brian Twomey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hyatt 48 Lex for 3 nights last week. When the staff learned that an entire family would be staying in the room, they upgraded us to a corner suite for free, with an amazing view of Lexington Avenue. It was a perfect base for us to explore Manhattan, and was a true oasis of calm and courtesy in the middle of a very busy city. And the second floor lounge made a perfect launching pad for us to get some extra coffee before we headed out for the day.

Thank you and see you soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGheeDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thanks for the 5 Star Comment! I am so pleased to hear that our team of Hosts upgraded you and took such great care of your needs. I hope your whole family enjoyed their stay with us.

Best,

Brian Twomey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel. There are so many positive points about this hotel it is difficult to cover them all, however:

The staff - all the staff that we came in contact with were very friendly, helpful and appeared very knowledgeable about the city and all it's locations.
The room - we were given a room on the third floor, it was spacious and comfortable. As said in other reviews the bed was so comfortable we had no trouble sleeping. The room was spotlessly clean and facilities excellent. There was a fridge, minibar, coffee maker and even a dishwasher
The second floor lounge - coffee, tea, water, juice and then breakfast pastries, cakes and cheese and biscuits were a welcome extra. This was an unexpected extra that we used every day. What a brilliant service.
The location - New York isn't a massive city and it is easy to travel around. This hotel is perfectly placed as a base for sightseeing near Central station and close enough to walk to many of the attractions.
We loved the city and would definitely recommend a stay at the Hyatt 48 Lex.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWales55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Awesome to hear you had some many great points about the Hyatt 48 Lex! Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Brian Twomey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 468 in New York City
2,708 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
1,428 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#48 of 468 in New York City
191 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#32 of 468 in New York City
1,827 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 468 in New York City
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 48LEX New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 48LEX New York

Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in New York City
#52 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $283 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel 48LEX New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 48LEX New York is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 salons and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious bedrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary light continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 48LEX New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing