We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 48LEX New York
Ranked #79 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“excellent choice in a central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

located just a couple of minutes from grand central, the hotel is very new and you feel it once you get to your room. all is clean and new. the lounge is a great idea (located on the 2nd floor) and you can have pastries and fresh juices in the morning, cheese late afternoon or coffee and tea all day - free of charge. there is a drinks choice too but payable.
staff is extremely attentive and makes you feel comfortable at once.
only negative point : there is a number of floors and just a couple of rooms per floor. 2 lifts are definitely not enough to make the wait short. be patient.

Room Tip: terrace studios are on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron_1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    350
    100
    38
    23
See reviews for
202
508
72
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

This new Hyatt in New York is a really nice experience. The lobby is small and the front desk is not your usual counter, but a table with 2 (or is it 3?) computers. Staff is very nice and helpful. There are only a few room per floor (4 or 5). Ours was on the 4th floor and was fairly large, especially by New York standards and we had a large terrace with chairs at overlooking 48th street almost at the corner of Lex. Furnishings were nice and modern. Bathroom was shower only (which is fine), large and very modern. Our room (and I think all rooms) has this small expresso machine. On the third floor, there's a lounge where they serve coffee, water and snacks. Very hip.

Room Tip: Make sure to get the terrace floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbeauchesne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
sbeauchesne,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your most recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you had a really nice experience with us and that you enjoyed our . In addition, we are pleased to hear your kind words about our Hip Hyatt 48 Lex team, and Terrace room.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I travel extensively on business and am familiar with many hotels around the country and world. I just completed my second stay in the last month at the 48Lex and have to say it's my new favorite hotel in NYC. The location is great, the rooms are quiet and clean (and spacious by NYC standards), and the staff is of a caliber that you would expect at a hotel that charges 3x as much. The Hyatt 48Lex carries the banner of a large hotel group, but gives the traveler the attention you'd expect from a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
RobM-


Thank you for all your kind words and for your loyalty. We are so pleased to hear that the Hyatt 48 Lex is your new favorite hotel in NYC and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great new Hyatt, fantastic location - really great. Hyatt seems like they wanted to open it as an Andaz because it has the look & feel of one. Very nice rooms. Close to everything. Great choice for almost any activity in the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
William4-


Thanks for your feedback! We agree with you, the Hyatt 48 Lex is a Great new Hyatt, and has a fantastic location. We are pleased you enjoyed yourself during your last visit, and we hope to see you again soon...

Best,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was my first stay at Hyatt 48 Lex. Check-in could not have been more pleasant, and my 10th floor room had a fine view of Lexington Avenue. The floor to ceiling windows at the foot of the bed were an unusual design feature, and the room was good-sized and had a comfortable sitting area and a mini-kitchen . The Lexicom lounge's coffee, cocktail hour and breakfast service were very good and the health club small but well-equipped. A fine stay in an excellent location.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank znitud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

There was a mixup with our reservation, it wasn't in the system. We were invited to the Lexicon Lounge while Tara sorted it out. But because it was peak (Tribeca Film Festival etc) I think there was no more room, so we were given the 'Handicapped persons' room (RM 902). No upgrade to the studio king as promised. The staff are excellent. BUT the handicapped bathroom has no walls separating the shower and the WC, so be warned....you will soak the entire bathroom. ask for TONS of bath mats coz the floor will be slippery. The bed is very comfy, but coz there were 2 of us,the super single (or Queen bed) was slightly squeezy. But we had a roof over our heads and a place top rest our weary bones after Tribeca. Would I recommend Hyatt48Lex? probably as long as you don't get 902. Would I return? LOL depends if I get to experience a room with e bath/shower with walls so I don't have to mop up every time I shower.

Room Tip: Anything but 902 (unless you need disabled facilities then this room would be perfect)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hossan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at the Hyatt 48. We had a great experience. We booked a queen using our Gold Passport points and were upgraded to a King. The room was nice and upscale, with a mini kitchen. All of the fittings were spotlessly clean and modern thanks to the fact that the hotel is still in it's infancy. The staff were very polite. There's a lounge on the 2nd floor where you can grab a drink or read a magazine though the staff we encountered there weren't as attentive as elsewhere and we never saw the complimentary snacks we were told about. All in all it was a great stay, we would definitely stay again.

Postives:
Great location
Friendly staff
Comfortable rooms
Great iPod docking station (very high end)
Large bathrooms
Mini kitchens

Negatives:
Can be pricey
2nd floor lounge was nice, but the offerings could have been better

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Packinmybags8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 48LEX New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 48LEX New York

Property: Hotel 48LEX New York
Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#63 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel 48LEX New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 48LEX New York is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 salons and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious bedrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary light continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 48LEX New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing