We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New York City
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,984)
Filter reviews
1,984 results
Traveler rating
350
499
459
199
477
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
350
499
459
199
477
Show reviews that mention
All reviews penn station madison square garden express check free breakfast busy hotel excellent location convenient location the empire state building times square msg manhattan checkin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 1,984 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Wonderful location. Hotel is nice enough and very convenient to many restaurants, etc.
The location is directly across the street from Penn Station which is how I travel to NYC regularly. Pleant of restaurants and pubs just steps away.

Room tip: The updated rooms on the upper floors are best. New furniture, decor and high up which helps with noise levels from the street.
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KVC666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit! It is fantastic to read that our location was so perfect for you. As you highlighted, we are just steps from a wonderful variety of shops and restaurants here in the heart of New York! Our proximity to transport options is just the icing on the cake. Come back and see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Gene Nicotra, Vice President/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

I come to New York City often and I will not stay anywhere else. This hotel has a very convenient location, clean and cozy rooms, and helpful staff. What more could you ask for. Oh, the price! The price is unbeatable.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ashley,
Thank you for warming our hearts with your lovely feedback! We are so happy to be your first choice here in the city. Our unbeatable location and awesome value make us the perfect place to kick back during your adventures. Thank you for complimenting our team! We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Gene Nicotra, Vice President/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

I book with this hotel frequently for work and staff is great, I always have a wonderful experience with Maria B. at the front desk. She’s always willing to go the extra mile for her guests and it shows (trust me- I’m typically not someone who leaves reviews for hotels). Thanks to Maria B. and all of the other staff members that work hard to create a wonderful guest experience!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank erind345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Erin,
We're grateful that we had the opportunity to have you at Hotel Pennsylvania. It warms our hearts to know that our dedicated team helped deliver the full-value stay you deserve. We'll make sure to pass along your message to Maria and the rest of the team for doing a spectacular job. Count on us again for another welcoming and warm hotel experience should your travels bring you back to New York.

Sincerely,
Gene Nicotra, Vice President/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

The hotel overall is good, new rooms and good location! In my opinion the hotel should have a restaurant, so you don’t have to go outside to get breakfast. And with that location a rooftop bar would be nice too!!!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Sheilita82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for joining us at Hotel Pennsylvania during your recent New York City getaway. It is pleasing to know that you found our location and rooms to be exceptional. We will keep your suggestion close to heart as we work to further enhance our guests' experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,
Gene Nicotra, Vice President/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Great time, great hotel, great fun
Every time we stay in Manhattan we come to Hotel Pennsylvania. We loved the upgraded room. Very nice much nicer then the classic rooms. Also location is the best.....

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Haydee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Haydee,
Thank you for being a loyal patron and for once again staying at Hotel Pennsylvania during your recent visit to New York. Count on our upgraded Pen 5000 and Penn Plaza Collection rooms to deliver another exceptional stay should your adventures bring you our way. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we cannot wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Gene Nicotra, Vice President/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews