We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,734)
Filter reviews
8,734 results
Traveler rating
600
1,227
2,146
1,402
3,359
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
600
1,227
2,146
1,402
3,359
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,386 - 4,391 of 8,734 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2016

we vsited on a school trip and all of us were dreading this hotel after reading the reviews but on arival i saw the huge lobby and it made a good first impression, we then went up to our rooms and im not gonna say it was luxury but it wasnt awful few stains on the carpet and definatly in need of some refurbishemt. i would definatly recomend this hotel to anyone on a budget wanting to stay in a great location in New York. The gym was a decent place for a little work out and everyone that ive spoken to from the trip said they enjoyed thier stay and was expecting something much worse than we got. so overall not a bad hotel for someone on a budget was in a perfect location and would definatly recomend staying here.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016

Dear Tyler G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I hope that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the central location of the hotel. Please know that I have shared your feedback with our team to ensure improvement in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. Looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2016

Easy to get to from the airport on the subway, despite being busy! make sure to buy the correct train ticket though to get you all the way to Penn Station, it is literally opposite the hotel at Madison Sqaure Garden (a lot going on). might not be preferable to some with large suitcases and a lot to carry.

Upon arrival (lobby is very grand) we weren't given much assistance or information about the hotel or anything near by, we were literally given our room key, quite rude reception staff. Beware, had to provide credit card upon arrival despite already paying for the room and the hidden tax charges per night that were not stated on the booking.com website, very frustrating! may at first seem cheap but not once tax is added on.

We booked a 'superior king' room, it was far from superior. the room was very basic, very old fashioned, had what we needed and that was about it. moderately clean but furnishings certainly well used. bathroom, standard, small shower and bath. Tv included, bed was large, took up most of room, no luggage space. quite noisy at night, as new york is, i was woken at 4am often by sirens, we had the window open as it was quite muggy in the room, little fresh air.

perfect location for site seeing, we walked everywhere! the best thing is it is 8 mins walk down the road a few blocks to times square, would highly recommend a morning bagel on the way!

we were most impressed with the cleaning staff who kept the room very tidy and clean despite the disappointing furnishings. there was an appalling view of the opposite building, not that you could see because the windows were black! strange netting over the whole building also so very little natural light in the room and no view of the street or empire state, despite it being so close.

we visited at christmas which was ideal for shopping, macys is literally just down the road, we were shopping here at 11 at night!

one note to make, there are no large supermarkets around, just small corner stores, this was pretty much the same over the whole of new york we found, so hard to buy basic provisions for the room. we ate out everyday but struggled with going out for dinner, there was little choice in and around the hotel. I have now been told the place to eat is at grand central believe it or not.

Despite the disappointing hotel and staff, we had a great trip and were glad we picked a hotel in such a central location for a reasonably good price at christmas time. Would not stay again unless the hotel is revamped and made a lot more modern, it seems to be stuck in the previous decade!

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank luakw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016

Dear luakw,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I hope that you enjoyed our prime location. We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your standards, nor ours for that matter. Please know that I have shared your feedback with our engineering and management team to follow up on this immediately. It's hard to understand that you say there were not many choices for dining around our hotel? We are across from Penn Station this area is loaded with eating establishments. You could always have asked the concierge for suggestions.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016

I recently visited this hotel with my college. I was quite nervous about staying in the hotel because of the awful reviews. However, i was pleasantly surprised about how lovely and helpful the staff were, the location is incredible, the beds were comfortable, the conference rooms were huge and the gym is very well equipped. Yes the rooms need decorating, the tap in the bathroom dripped and it is genuinely run down. What you have got to remember is that it is a 3 star hotel and not a 5 star so it isn't going to be amazing. If you can bare dripping taps and old school style rooms and just want to stay somewhere with amazing locations then this is defiantly the hotel for you! Also, request room 322 because you can connect to Macy's wifi for free so you don't have to pay $11 a day for the hotels one.

Room tip: Room 322 can connect to the Macy's wifi for free!
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

Dear Holly M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your honest and forthright feedback on TripAdvisor!
We are very glad that you see the amazing value that we offer in such a fantastic and convenient location.
I am glad to hear that our team assisted you and will share your kind words which I am sure will make them Smile!
We appreciate your time and we hope you keep us in mind upon your next visit to NYC.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel to find out that hotels.com did not properly get our reservation over to the hotel. While we waited an hour and 40 minutes on hold with hotels.com Betty kept checking on us and ran our reservation every 10 minutes until it finally appeared. She saved us so much time and was honestly the friendliest and most caring person I have met in quite some time. While we had an awful situation appear due to another company, Betty treated us like gold even though it wasn't her fault. It is people like this that makes you want to come back to stay at the Hotel Pennsylvania.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank mls133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016

Hello mls133,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us on TripAdvisor! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and our amazing staff especially our very own "Betty". It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are experiencing satisfaction at our hotel as intended by our team. We sincerely value your time with us and are looking to welcome you again.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2016

Very nice lobby area and It's a huge hotel! we had a little trouble finding our room but the maids in the hall helped us find it and welcomed us. The room was a bit dated but clean with fresh sheets and a comfy bed. But reasonably priced. We went to a concert at Madison square which is literally across the street. Major plus.

Room tip: Book if you're going to MSG
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2016

Dear Jeanine F,

Greetings and Thank You for choosing The Pennsylvania Hotel, and thank you for your splendid review. The staff here at The Penn takes pride in their everyday work and we are glad the location was suitable and convenient for you. We are pleased to hear that we were able to work everything out for you. We realize how overwhelming a concert can be and we're so glad you were able to find rest and solace on your return each day.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews