We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended - paying it forward”

Pure Thai Cookhouse
Ranked #26 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: PURE Thai Cookhouse is a genuine Thai shophouse-style restaurant in Hell’s Kitchen that features homemade noodles from a prized family recipe. PURE specializes in signature dishes you would find from the many vendors and shophouses from the farmlands of Phayao, in the North to the floating markets of Ratchaburi in Central Thailand, to the oceans and fishing villages of Krabi in the South.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Recommended - paying it forward”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This Hell's Kitchen restaurant was recommended to us and we are paying the favor forward. Luckily it was walking distance from our Times Square hotel so we stopped there for lunch. It was great - so authentic. For a very cold January day we enjoyed the fresh and tangy Fresh Papaya salad; the warm and delicious Nakorn-Patom duck noodle soup and the comforting traditional pad thai with shrimp. The restaurant is a small hidden gem authetic down to the thai music and movie posters as decor. Definitely will return!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetsetMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    237
    38
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best thai dinner I ever had!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

It took us a while to get a table but the food was worth every minute of waiting. They have not many tables and the restaurant is pretty cramped. You ´ll sit on plastic chairs and it´s not so comfortable but the food.....MMMMMM. I had the Pad thai and it was fantastic. The thai beer (Singah) is very good and the staff is really nice and kind.
Very nice price for the dinner too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompano
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OMG, YOU'LL LOVE LOVE LOVE this place”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

honestly, every single bite I was moaning like my girlfriend Chris does while she eats...so funny...not your "typical thai" as my standard is coconut milk/red curry and guess what....there wasn't any...was kinda scared to tell ya the truth but I cannot wait to go back in June during another business trip....the appetizers were really lushious as was the wine & the meal...I had shrimp something and it was SOOO FABULOUS...no reservations but worth the wait...and wait you will as it was voted best thai in 2012 I think....so have patience, but GO GO GO, you'll be pleasantly surprised, I promise...would I lie to you....would I lie to ya honey ;)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank colleen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
402 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Excellent THAI option”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Excellent THAI option, highly recommended, a true ThAi restaurant in New York.
Price, ratio, quality it is very very, good

Helpful?
Thank Licey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food in NY”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

The duck noodles soup is exactly how you would have it in Bangkok though it cost much much lesser. About $12 here vs $1.50 at a foodcourt in BKK. Nevertheless it is a great meal to have some authentic meal in NY.

Helpful?
Thank Foodie_Ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pure Thai Cookhouse also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pure Thai Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing