We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hole in the wall”

Pure Thai Cookhouse
Ranked #26 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: PURE Thai Cookhouse is a genuine Thai shophouse-style restaurant in Hell’s Kitchen that features homemade noodles from a prized family recipe. PURE specializes in signature dishes you would find from the many vendors and shophouses from the farmlands of Phayao, in the North to the floating markets of Ratchaburi in Central Thailand, to the oceans and fishing villages of Krabi in the South.
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An amazing hole in the wall”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Its a little tiny restaurant that packs a huge punch As the saying goes " good things come in small packages" Probably seating for 40 tops.
Authenic flavors. A perfect sized menu. Very friendly staff. Fast service.
Basil Chicken with string beans was tastey and spicey.
Curry rice was perfect.
Pork Sate was cooked to perfection.

Looking forward to returning soon. You have to try it if you are in the neighborhood

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    237
    38
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place!!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a hole in the wall place. Family found it and we were not unhappy at all. The home made noddles were great and we tried under their advice what to order. Very friendly service. Vey small place but goooood food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in NY”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Food is perfect. But the menu is not big. Service is typical for places like this. Not very comfortable seats. Overall - if you love thai food - give it a try and you will not be upset if you want good food not decor. Take a look at photoes. Beef curry was perfect. Spring rolls - one of the best. Good luck :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RickZ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, very busy for a reason!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I ordered Jungle curry which I was warned was very spicy and it was! Still delicious though. I think the UK version of Thai food is less spicy than the Thai food tailored for the NYC crowd? Great atmosphere and fast turn over of customers. Not suitable if you want a leisurely all-evening sit down. I really liked the buzz of the place but if you're there it's for the great food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slap_n_Tickle37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummie Thai!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went here on our first night in NYC and had absolutely no regrets!
Very good food for VERY reasonable prices.
We had the JUNGLE CURRY FRIED RICE WITH CHICKEN which was very spicy and good & the PAD THAI WITH SHRIMP, also very good.
Portions are also very big!!
I would recommend this restaurant to averyone who loves Thai food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LiesbetK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pure Thai Cookhouse also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pure Thai Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing