We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time with Famous People (even if they are made of wax!)”

Madame Tussauds New York
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.49*
and up
Madame Tussauds New York
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Full Day City Tour of New York City From Boston
More Info
$39.99*
and up
New York City Supersaver: Madame Tussauds New York with Hop-on Hop-off Cruise
Ranked #84 of 1,103 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Get your selfie sticks ready! Madame Tussauds in Times Square is the only place with no ropes or barriers holding you back from getting photos with your favorite stars! Voted as one of New York's most unique attractions, Madame Tussauds invites you to pose with over 200 figures of internationally renowned musicians, A-list stars, sports legends, world leaders, super heroes and more. With several newly renovated spaces, the world famous wax attraction is bigger and better than ever!
Derby, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun time with Famous People (even if they are made of wax!)”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Madame Toussauds was our destination for our day in NYC on Friday, 12/27. When we arrived, it was a little unclear where to go once we had our tickets. Once we arrived upstairs, we loved seeing the wax figures of all the celebrities, took lots of pics with them. Everyone we met was good about taking turns to get their pictures. We especially liked the 4-D Marvel Adventure show! That was so much fun! All in all a great time!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank eileencsm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,575
    2,394
    1,184
    327
    122
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth it with the New York Pass”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have "passed" on this attraction in other cities but had a free hour when we saw it in Times Square. We had the New York Pass so we decided to check it out.

In a world where so much is don't touch this, don't take pictures of this, it was nice to move freely around the exhibit. You can get in front of, next to, behind, and all around all of the figures. You can pose for pictures and interact with them.

We went around 8pm, no line and few people in the exhibits which made it easier to enjoy. Had it been busy, it probably would have been difficult to jockey for position and interact with the figures.

Sure some look real and others don't. Overall it was good but I probably wouldn't have paid face value for the tickets.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Care13bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“You DO get what you expect”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Going first thing in the morning, and having a New York pass, meant that we had no wait and were straight in to this busy attraction. It also meant that we were able to move through the exhibits with comparative ease - we could see all the figures and easily pose for photos with them. A good range of the sorts of people you would expect at an American Madame Tussauds; we would have liked to see more sporting figures, but they don't seem to feature as prominently in US culture as in others. The staff were particularly helpful and friendly - not always a given on Manhattan. We were pleased with the photos taken of our group. The additional cost for the Marvel Avengers figures and show was a little annoying, but I guess it keeps the crowd numbers down and the younger members of our party loved it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madame Tussauds N, Manager at Madame Tussauds New York, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mixing with the Stars”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I really liked the layout of the semi social environment with the wax figures. I especially like that you could touch and pose with them, unlike other wax museums which house the wax figures is glass cases.

We received free admission with our New York Pass.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank krise582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun times!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the attractions here with the family. The wax models are a great resemblance to most but some could have been better. Anyhow, it was a great selfie opportunity with your friends.

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madame Tussauds New York also viewed

 

Been to Madame Tussauds New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing