We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Hotel, but pricey and not service friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ONE UN New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ONE UN New York
Ranked #315 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, but pricey and not service friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice location in the right area some great views the pool is a massive let down as is the Sauna which was broken for guys- yes they separate guys and girls. Wifi wasn't free when paying $750 for 3 nights you'd expect these as basic amenities and the front desk was under staffed so long waits. having said that staff were friendly lobby is very nice rooms were of a good quality too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It’s always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests and I thank you for taking a moment to share your comments with us. Our West Tower accommodation offer complimentary Wi-Fi. You may want to consider one of these rooms for your next stay. As for the staff member, we’re glad they were able to elevate the experience. We pride ourselves on high standards of guest relations and it’s wonderful to know they have reflected that for your stay. Please contact me at Erica.Kostic@millenniumhotels. I am here to ensure the comfort of your stay.

Kindest Regards,
Erica Kostic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    944
    442
    193
    125
See reviews for
521
850
126
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

It started off badly at the front desk and only got worse from there. I was greeted with a grunt and was told that my room was not ready. Instead of taking down my phone number and offering to call me when my room was ready ( like every other hotel does) I was told to "keep checking back" Over an hour later my room was finally ready, and off I went. When I got up to my room, 36'th floor in the East tower I found that the A/C was turned off, which was add since it was really hot in the room. I quickly figured out why this was the case. Upon turning on the A/C I was greeted with a rumbling sound akin to sitting in an airplane right next to the engine. When I called the front desk asking to be moved to a different room I was told that there are no rooms available and someone would come up to take a look at my issue. 10 minutes later someone from housekeeping showed up and asked me "What is the problem" Once I explained to them, (over the noise of the rumbling) she told me that she was told that the room was not clean and there is nothing that she can do for the noise. She then called someone on the phone and asked them maintenance to come up. 30 minutes later, and nursing a major migrane from the rumbling noise I finally gave up waiting and called the front desk one more time. This time, after once again being told there are no rooms available, I asked and was transferred to the manager. After spending 5 minutes on hold I was greeted with a "Yeah". I asked if this was the manager and was told "Yeah I am the night manager what is going on" After spending another 5 minutes explaining what I now explained to 3 people the night manager interrupted me and asked " is that the loud noise I am hearing over the phone" (imagine how bad it must be if it was interfereing with a phone conversation. 5 more minutes on hold and I was told " Well I will have to bump someone else to give you a new room, but fine" Off I got to a new room. Guess what I hear as soon as I walk in - YUP the same darn A/C noise. This time I took matter into my own hands. Took the room -service menu and showed it into the A/C grate to stop the noise (it did not fix it completely, but made it better - see pics) Next was time to fix the bed. Every time I moved on it, the bed sounded like it was about to fall apart. Had to tighten all the legs, and shove things under the broken ones (see pics)
Overall this was the worst room/service/experience I had at a hotel. I am not sure how the new tower is, but the east tower that I stayed in is awfull. It is old, run down (see more pics) and needs a complete gut job.

Room Tip: Stay in the new tower, do not stay in the old one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zhukov11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I’m quite concerned to read your comments. Please reach out to me directly at Erica.Kostic@millenniumhotels.com so that I may look into the particulars.

Kindest Regards,
Erica Kostic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I first stayed at One UN New York, then the UN Plaza, in 1983. It has become my New York "go to" hotel ever since. My most recent stay was the week before last. My brother accompanied me on the trip; and he had never stayed at the hotel.

We were originally booked in the East tower. Frankly, I was disappointed; the East tower is sore need of renovation, although the views of downtown, uptown, and the East River were great. However, in typical fashion, the extremely efficient staff did everything necessary to improve our experience. We were moved to the West tower, which has been beautifully renovated. Our suite was outstanding, with unbelievable views. (Imagine waking up each morning with a view of the Empire State Building, and going into the living room with a view of the UN, East River, and the World Trade each day.) The staff from the front desk to housekeeping were extremely attentive to our needs.

Unfortunately, our business in New York extended longer than planned, and the hotel was full, so we had to move. My brother was disappointed fir two reasons: First, we had to move, and secondly, because the new hotel was not One UN.

Thanks again for a great experience.

trequer

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the West tower. The East tower needs to be renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trequer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I’m grateful for your review and I thank you for sharing your comments with us. I regret to learn that you were not able to extend your stay with us. During your dates of stay, our hotel experienced high occupancy levels. I’m sorry that you did not find the East tower to your satisfaction however, it’s wonderful to know that our staff members accommodated you to your liking. We pride ourselves on high standards of guest relations and it’s always thrilling to hear positive feedback in that area. For your next stay, please contact me directly and I would be delighted to ensure your next stay exceeds your expectations. I can be reached at Erica.Kostic@millenniumhotels.com.

Kindest Regards,
Erica Kostic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Just checked into the One Un NYC after requesting an upgrade and a king bed in the new West tower four days prior. Was offered to upgrade for $100 (by email) but declined. The East wing is as described, run down.. we were also given two full beds.. thanks for not honoring any of our requests... photos will be attached. This is my second Nyc Priceline purchase where the rooms do not live up to 4 star quality. I am wondering if buying through Priceline guarantees their worse room? A little disappointed as we are celebrating a romantic weekend away before the chaos of our wedding.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I’m sorry to hear you did not get the room you expected. With two different types of accommodations, I can assure you we offer our guests with options they can choose from and I’m deeply sorry that you didn’t get to experience the West Tower accommodations. I would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back and redefine your experience. Please contact me directly at Erica.Kostic@millenniumhotels.com for personal assistance.

Kindest Regards,
Erica Kostic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Booked through Get-a-Room (which was very smooth and effective and the phone lady was extraordinarily friendly and helpful). The hotel was entirely booked, but Get-a-Room had a room to sell me. Very nice. The West tower is all refurbished and nicely so, except for an unusual item: square toilets. Perhaps the foreign visitors at the UN have square bums? I don't imagine that they do... On the loo, don't lean back for fear of vertebral dislocation.. Not sure what bathroom architect or toilet designer came up with squareness of toilets. Those visitors from the southern hemisphere lose and opportunity to see the reverse Coriolis Effect. Ah well... Great hotel otherwise. EXCELLENT bed.. My review is restricted to the updated West Tower, however... The East Tower I understand has not been updated to the modern square shape of bums.

Room Tip: Choose updated West Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerREVA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We value your opinion and I thank you for sharing your insights with us. I’m glad you had a wonderful visit and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured your comments have been shared with the rest of the team. Please feel free to contact me directly at Erica.Kostic@millenniumhotels.com for assistance. I look forward to welcoming you back!

Kindest Regards,
Erica Kostic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Booked a room through Priceline. Had an AMAZING view in a corner room and it was clean. The good stuff stops there.

The lobby is very grand and impressive but our room desperately needed updating. Cabinet doors were coming off hinges, the bathroom sink had a giant crack, the carpet was stained and the room smelled like smoke. Actually, the whole floor smelled like smoke. There was one tiny trashcan in the bathroom to serve the whole room. No ice buckets - had to go down 4 floors to get ice, where they have what appear to be a few disposable popcorn tubs. The staff seems extremely uninterested in being helpful. And the location is not conveniently located to much.

We were there on a weekend so we may have had a different experience had we stayed during the week. Regardless, we stayed at a centrally located, fully updated and wonderfully staffed hotel earlier in our trip for almost the same price and I was wishing we had just stayed there the whole time.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calicpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your feedback. I’d like to discuss the particulars with you so that I may look into the specifics. Please contact me at Erica.Kostic@Millenniumhotels.com . I look forward to our correspondence.

Kindest Regards,
Erica Kostic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here in April for a conference. The hotel is nicely maintained. The lobby and bar area could use a modern upgrade but the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Its right next to the UN but its very close to Times Square, Broadway, Rockefeller and Central Park. All of them 10-15 min walk away. Another plus is its a quick trip from LGA Airport.

As for the room: The bathroom was a little dated but in good shape. The bed was comfortable and the LCD TV was nice. My only negative about the room was the dresser drawers wouldn't close all the way and looked to be broken or off the tracks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iheartrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We’re open to every suggestion that could help us better serve you. Thank you so very much for sharing your feedback. I can assure you that I have shared your comments relevantly. Please contact me directly at Erica.Kostic@millenniumhotels.com for personal assistance with your next stay. I look forward to welcoming you back!

Kindest Regards,
Erica Kostic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Manhattan East
Hilton Manhattan East
#295 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#152 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway Hotel New York
Millennium Broadway Hotel New Yo...
#275 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#228 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,976 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#155 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ONE UN New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ONE UN New York

Property: ONE UN New York
Address: One United Nations Plaza, 44th Street (Between First and Second Avenue), New York City, NY 10017-3515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — ONE UN New York 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your ONE UN New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Millennium Un Plaza
Millennium Un Plaza Hotel
Millenium Un Plaza Hotel
Millenium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing