We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Market Diner - CLOSED

The Market Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great coffee, and awesome breakfast. Food tasted delicious and the service was top notch. Very good location and even has some parking in midtown. The diner looks modern and looks freshly remodeled. We had a very good experience and will visit again when we stay in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SmokinBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    98
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochefort, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We where here in december and had a great breakfast. Friendly people and enough to eat. The cinnamon french toast with apple mhhh. Clean table and seats. Restrooms where clean. Location is not so central but the food was worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Herman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere and the Food were great! Especially the Hamburger and cheesecake! The waiters were very friendly. Great Restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It is a great New York City diner ... it was clean, quick and good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was in New York City on a business trip Monday November 11, 2013. I selected Market Diner because it was right across the street from my office. I arrived at 8:00 a.m. and as soon as I walked in I was greeted. I was showed to a booth and was instantly greeted by a waitress to take my drink order.

I placed my order and it only took 10-12 minutes for my food to arrive. It was hot and tasted good. I think the price was reasonable considering I was in New York City.

The service was good and the place was clean.

I would eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Vintage / Fantastic NYC Diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Went on a weekend trip to NYC and got a chance to try out lots of great restaurants. We arrived early to a local museum and wanted to get out of the nasty weather and get a bite to eat. As we walked and walked and walked we finally came upon what we hoped was a vintage NYC Diner and we were not disappointed. The menu for breakfast was fantastic and I did not think the prices were too bad for NYC. My personal favorite was the fresh squeezed orange juice. i know this sounds a bit funny but when you have orange juice from actual oranges there's no going back. Everything else from the eggs to the bacon to the grilled bagel were top notch. They dont even skimp on the cream cheese which a pet peeve of mine. The service was top notch as well, we ate at the counter , had no problem finding a seat, we were immediately waited on for drinks , soon after our food order and the food was out in no less than 10 minutes. What more can you ask. The crowd was all local new Yorkers and a few tourists sprinkled in but it was nice to listen to the New Yorkers talk about life in the big city. So I thoroughly enjoyed the Market Diner and would highly reccomend it for an authentic NYC Diner experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vwbug77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market Diner also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing