We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and not as greasy as expected for a diner!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Market Diner - CLOSED

The Market Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and not as greasy as expected for a diner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We found this gem while waiting for our circle line harbour cruise. From the outside, it doesn't look like much, but inside it is bright, airy, and friendly. Staff were all very attentive and nice, and food was really really good! My mother had the brisket special, and I had the California Omelette - so much food! Come hungry!

The best part was that we didn't feel icky like after most diners, and the omelette seemed to be made out of real whole eggs (and not the gross other stuff). We were very pleased, and will definitely be back. All the regulars that streamed in during our time there was a great sign.

They only reason for not giving 5 stars is for the small tea selection and the fact that when adding more hot water, they didn't give our cups a quick rinse.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ruvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    98
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
565 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Trifecta! Great food, value & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is a great old-fashioned diner and great for the prices charged. Located at 572 11th Avenue it is a great place to walk to if you are near Times Square. This short walk will save you a lot of dough. It is near all the scenic boat rides. The prices are great. We had breakfast for two for about $16. It is clean, the service is fast and it is open 24 hours.

Make sure you ask for Akatrina, she is really special!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CHOCOOLATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ideal After Circle Line Cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Really good food and great value. Excellent air conditioning which was needed :)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fluffy2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Ok so this is just a typical NYC diner but there's nothing wrong with that. The service was quick and friendly. The food was good, the coffee kept on coming and the price was dirt cheap. Perfect!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 10pmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Knocks Spots Off McDonalds (and Burger King, Wendys etc..)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Came off the Circle Line Harbour Lights cruise looking for a simple bite to eat, and actually rather yearning for a good, honest American Hamburger. Came up trumps with this place which, while it may look a little 'faux', is a genuine (built 1964) American Diner (see this link if you dont believe me http://www.nyc-architecture.com/MID/MID140.htm).

Place was clean, service was good, and the burgers were excellent - all in a part of NY that is not exactly renowned for its eateries. It was also easily the best value meal we had during our week stay.

Give it a go - and if you then still return to McDonalds, I am afraid there is no hope for you

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fortysomething7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market Diner also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing