We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Bookstore In New York”

The Strand Bookstore
Ranked #4 of 806 Shopping in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Bookstore In New York”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

One of my favorite bookstores of all time and a must see while visiting New York. With great selections and prices on books you can't go wrong with Strand. They have everything from art books to books on baseball. When you go to Strand be sure you explore around and spend a couple of hours in there so you can get a good feel for it and walk away with a book or two from the greatest bookstore in all of New York.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    96
    25
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
568 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Refresh your love of books”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Excellent selection of books and it seems never-ending. The store was very full when we stopped by, but it's a great location (close to Union Square) and a fun place to pass some time. We didn't buy any books because we didn't want to carry them the remainder of the day, but they had new and used which seems like a difficult thing to do, but makes it that much more unique. We loved their selection of souvenirs. They weren't just mugs, t-shirts and bags, but cute T-shirts and fun bags. Their reusable bags were only $2.95 and great gifts for those back home. Their selection was wonderful. Book lovers beware, you could spend hours and lots $$ here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HanKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My favourite bookshop in the world!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Seriously! This is the best bookshop I have been to, and I have been to a fair few in several different countries.

One of the things I like to do no matter where I go is to go to bookshops, even in the countries where English is not the main language. Because I love books. I am addicted to them.

So why Strand?
Before the "minimalism" craze took over everything, do you remember the bookshops with narrow isles and high shelves stacked with books? Admittedly, that was mostly in the second-hand bookshops.

But Strand has three floors of those narrow isles and shelves filled with books. It's like a treasure trove, wandering in there, not knowing what you will find. They have more selection than any other bookshop I have been to. You can find collector's editions of classics, and you can buy cheap paperback additions.

There is a whole area devoted to stationery, and they even their own "Strand" Moleskines. You don't go to Strand just to buy books (though you really should), you go to Strand just to enjoy being surrounded by books.

Every time I go to NYC now, visiting Strand is always on the list.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dolly-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous Bookstore”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Strand is not "just" a bookstore. It is "the" bookstore. A veritable grand library where you can touch the books and feel the helpfulness of a staff that are book lovers too. This is worth the trip. It is also a part of getting to know why New Yorkers are such a different breed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My favorite library in all over the world”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Excellent discounts, very complete, with a smart selection of the favorite books of some authors invited by the bookstore for choose and share their suggestions. Also they sell nerdy tshirts and some funny stuff for people who loves literature.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank simon_posada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strand Bookstore also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Strand Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing