We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bookstore!”

The Strand Bookstore
Ranked #3 of 816 Shopping in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
East Greenbush, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bookstore!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have always heard wonderful things about "The Strand". Was finally able to visit, and it really is a great place! 3 floors of books and all sorts of things! Great selection, great prices, and I really enjoyed the stationary / card and gift section! Got my self a wonderful Charlotte's Web shirt! My all time favorite chilhood book!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CupcakeGirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    98
    25
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Came here looking for one book...walked out with three”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is the book lovers haven! The prices are great, staff are very helpful with any queries you have. There are so many books - I could spend all day here!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christyk1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My favorite bookstore in the world!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Every time I go to NYC I visit the Strand. Every time I visit I find something that I am interested in. Wonderful selection, I can't leave empty handed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“More books than a lot of libraries”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I really enjoy a good bookstore and this one is really nice because of the tremendous variety. There are new, old and rare editions that I really thought were awesome. It was quite crowded on Black Friday, but very much worth the walk. I would love to go back again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you are a book lover you need to include this in your visit. If you've ever been to Powells in Portland Ore this book store is similar. Several floors of books, new, used and everything you can imagine from a subject matter. It was extremely crowded and since it was winter it was hard to shop for a long time with our coats. They will ship anywhere you want so you don't have to worry about limiting yourself to what you can pack in your suitcase.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl201077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strand Bookstore also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Strand Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing