We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the last surviving great record stores”

J&R Music and Computer World
Ranked #162 of 823 Shopping in New York City
Attraction details
Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“One of the last surviving great record stores”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

J&R is an institution like Tower Records used to be.........great collections of Jazz, Soul, Blues and oldies..........for real music lovers who still want to buy their records this is the place!!!
Let's hope it will last for a while!!!!............Tower Records is gone, the Bottom Line theater is gone,
Lennox Lounge in Harlem will soon be gone too........Borders book store is gone etc etc.......NY won't be the same without these places.........too bad!!

Roeland Biever

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank roeland b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    5
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Nice selection, but un-interested sales people”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Went in to buy a digital camera with interchangeable lenses. Looking at some pretty high priced cameras. The salesman handed them to us and wandered away. There was no other customer in the store. We had to keep asking him to come over and show us the features of the 2 cameras we were looking . Pretty un-satisfying experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 76543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good selection and prices at a hands-on electronic, camera, computer, CD, housewares, etc. store”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I disagree with some of the others. As a native NEW YORKER, even though I now live and work in Paris, I have always purchased my cameras and computers here, except for a small portable which I got at the FNAC in Paris because I needed a tiny computer entirely in French, but the price was almost 50 % more than in NYC. J&R has purchased almost the entire block of PARK ROW, little by little so you will find computers, cameras, electronic gadgets, phones, house wares, CD's, etc. All of my CD's come from here since they have the most recent releases on sale. I find that the staff is quite helpful, but you should do your research before you come and check out their website too, since you go here (or to B&H) when you are ready to buy and you are not quite sure of the particular models and prefer to try them out. If there is a problem they will exchange or refund very easily. Good points: you can actually hold and try the items prior to purchase.With any purchase you now can get a free coffee in the new cafe on the mezzanine of the computer store.Nice place to sit down for awhile before making more purchases

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Typam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not for real gamers”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We looked for gaming headsets - after seeing them in the Razer's site. Found out they have a very poor selection.
Also - the store is divided into 5-6 separate stores and you should know to which you have to go as they are not connected.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank oritkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great Selection, Fair Prices and Stupid Sales People”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

If you need electronics or housewares, this is the best place to go for selection. Price is also good but the lack of any type of help from Salespeople is just abominable. Make sure you know exactly what you want as well as the price plus call to see if in stock. I've been using J&R for many years but the customer service experience has gotten worse with each passing year. I went in to purchase some lens filters and it was a nightmare to say the least. The time before I went in to purchase two specific USB card readers and i was shuffled back and forth between Store #1 and #10 three times. It was only after I demanded to see a manager did it get any better. Customer service here is completely dead .....

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank eminker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J&R Music and Computer World also viewed

 

Been to J&R Music and Computer World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing