We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Ur of department stores” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macy's Herald Square

Macy's Herald Square
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.00*
and up
Historic Tour of Macy's Herald Square
Ranked #78 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From its inception, Macy's Herald Square was a store unlike any other. Over the past 150 years, it has become a true New York City icon. Built in 1902, Macy's Herald Square was the first building to have the modern-day escalator, and it has continued to be a trendsetter. Today, "America's Largest Department Store" covers an entire city block with 11 levels of the latest fashions for you and your home. Macy's offers a full-service Visitor Center on the Mezzanine Level, plus restaurants throughout the store and exciting events almost every day.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,096 reviews
603 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
“The Ur of department stores”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

First of all, if you know someone who works for Macy's and can sponsor you to march in the annual Thanksgiving parade, do it - it is the most incredible rush, the perfect way to start off the holiday season. I did it 4 times, and it was one of the best experiences I've ever had. Exhausting, but wonderful.

As for the store, I go there frequently to buy clothes, but I have also bought crystal vases and other fine things there as holiday and birthday presents for family members. It can be crazy busy on the weekends, especially during the holiday season, and it can be infuriating trying to find someone to help you, or waiting in line at a cash register; but there are often great bargains on fairly high-end clothing and accessories of all kinds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charming_Karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,496
    1,160
    563
    189
    128
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

During our recent stay in New York, Macy's was a must see on our list. However, we were disappointed! Perhaps coming from London we just have high expectations but it was no where near as nice as harrods! I know it is wrong to compare the two but I was still surprised to see how dull Macy's is as a store. The building is old fashioned and a few areas were sectioned off for refurbishment - looked a bit tacky. The toilets (restrooms) downstairs by the international visitors centre were the most disgusting and dirty I have ever been in.

The one good thing is the 10% discount for international visitors which was useful and also there was a lot of choice in the store.

However, another thing that shocked me was the poor customer service! I bought quite an expensive watch and the sales assistant made no effort to talk to me and grunted when I asked to try it on! She then stood there blowing bubbles with her bubble gum as I tried
it on. We then went to another sales assistant where my mum asked to try a watch on and she was told she couldn't for security reasons. She said she couldn't buy it then and the sales assistant just shrugged. They really don't care whether they make a sale or not!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albans, herts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very big choice, could do with more air conditioning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Macy's is huge. You could spend 4 or 5 hours on 1 or 2 floors. Make sure you get your 10% discount for foreign visitors from customer service, then spend away. The staff were super helpful and friendly. For those from the UK, it's similar to John Lewis budgets with 10 times more choice. Far more family and purse friendly than Bloomingdales.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank stalbansvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerum, Sweden
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Shopping heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you're visting New York, a stop at Macy's is a must. Lots of different shops inside this establishment, there's something for everybody. If you're a foreign visitor, remember to claim your 10% discount at the service desk. Cheap shopping becomes even cheaper that way ;)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rambam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“This is my store!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Love this store and today they had a 25% off so I went wild! The best floor for women is the 3 floor. Lingerie is 6 th floor, went the basement as well to get some pijamas for my husband. It's a great feel and everything is marked clearly. There are plenty of fitting rooms and none seems to care how many you bring in. I love this store! It has casual, formal etc...caters for everyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bootscooter55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macy's Herald Square also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Macy's Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing