We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The BEST part of our NYC trip!

We toured midtown with Patrick on a Tuesday morning, and we couldn't have hoped for a better, more... read more

Reviewed today
Austin M
via mobile
Incredibly informative tours!

On a whirlwind solo trip to NYC I took two Streetwise tours - Greenwich Village & Meatpacking... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Stephanie C
Read all 1,164 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around New York City
from $69.00
More Info
from $109.00
More Info
from $37.02
More Info
from $38.00
More Info
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveler rating
1,135
27
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,135
27
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pod hotel lower east side meatpacking district greenwich village walking tour hour tour new york dumbo and brooklyn heights custom tour great tour street art these guys the subway system bob dylan private tour guide book the meat packing district
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Great communication with Dan at Streetwise. We gave some ideas about things we would like to see and David our tour guide completely nailed it! We loved his sense of humour getting his opinion on the best, the quirky and the ridiculous of NYC. Totally recommend this unique walking tour - we did 6 hours of history, iconic moments, culture and food! It was crazy good! We satisfied age groups from 23 to 60 with great information, humour, knowledge and perspective! Best bits Chinese market and dollar dumplings, architecture and fashion in soho and 911 memorial. Don't think about any other tour company if you want to get under the skin of NYC. Streetwise get it spot on!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank pollylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

excellent walking tour, thorough knowledgable guide jordan, approachable, professional, and enjoyable tour well worth trying especially if you are only in new york for a few hours and want to sample the culture food an atmosphere of the districts. jordan helps you assimilate the different localities with their origins.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank angiec999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

Greg was our guide. He went above and beyond to make sure my parents were comfortable. We had a private tour for 6. Greg did a great job of catering to our variety of interest. Our ages ranged from 67-16. He new the area very well and gave us tips for the rest of the trip. We started the trip at our hotel then headed to grand central. We went to some amazing neighborhoods. Soho, Greenwich, and China town. I highly recommend Greg for your next tour.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Hvaquera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017

My sister and I enjoyed a 4.5 tour with Sonja on August, 24, 2017. Sonja was prompt meeting us at our hotel. We set off to the subway where we learned the history and current affairs of the subway, very interesting. After Sonja explained the subway lines, we were comfortable using it the next 4 days. We toured the Meatpacking District, SOHO, Greenwich Village, Little Italy and DUMBO. My mind was full of information at the end of the day. Touring with Streetwise made my 60th birthday memorable. I wish I had toured with Streetwise years ago. Thank you Sonja.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank ConstanceK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017

We flew to NYC on Wednesday to see the Adam Ant concert and stayed at Pods51. We had some time on Thursday before we returned to the airport, and I really wanted to see the High Line, Greenwich Village, and Washington Square Park. Coincidentally, Pods51 offered a free tour of all these places plus the Meatpacking District that morning.

Andrew led our tour. He's a native, so he possesses a breadth of knowledge on the intricacies of the city and how it's changed over the years. He's happy to answer any questions.

We took the subway to the Meatpacking District, which allowed him to inform us about the MTA's program to put more art in the stations. He introduced us to one of his favorite artists.

I'd never been to the Meatpacking District. We checked out Chelsea Market, which was the inspiration of Ponce City Market here in Atlanta. I enjoyed hearing about the history of the National Biscuit Company (Nabisco), and seeing where the trains used to actually travel through the buildings.

I had always imagined browsing through the funky shops in Greenwich Village when I was a kid. Sadly, it's mostly brownstone neighborhoods now. I especially enjoyed hearing Andrew's story about getting to know a construction crew that renovated one of the brownstone homes over a few years. It helped understand the dynamics of the income and professional classes in Manhattan. Andrew also introduced us to Jeff at the Music Inn, which was another personal touch that made the tour seem more like one by a friend than a tour guide. Jeff is an interesting character who worked at the store when Bob Dylan used to purchase his records there.

We saw the Stonewall Inn and the statues commemorating the LGBT history in the neighborhood. It's amazing to think how much acceptance and civil rights have been gained by LGBT people since 1969. If you're interested in learning more about what life for LGBT people was like before that time, read Gay New York: Gender, Urban Culture, and the Making of the Gay Male World 1890-1940 by George Chauncey.

We ended the tour at Washington Square Park. I had always wanted to see the park because my mom used to play "Christmas in Washington Square" by Wayne Newton every holiday season. It was a bit warm to imagine Wayne Newton building a snowman, but interesting to see the space buzzing with students and others. Folk singers used to gather there to perform during the 50s and 60s.

In conclusion, if you'd like a more personal, casual tour of NYC, I would recommend Streetwise Tours.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Jef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews