We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ”

Streetwise New York Tours
Ranked #5 of 732 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most walking tours point and stare at New York-with Streetwise New York, you live it! Streetwise New York explores neighborhoods, recounts history and studies contrast--but does so knowing that New York’s essence isn’t listed in guidebooks or displayed in museums. The true New York is melted into slices of pizza, hidden in subways, and carried in the ever-changing stories of its 8.5 million people.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

Hi
I guess if you are reading this you are planning a trip to New York!
What ever you do make this top of your to do lists.
I emailed Dan from Steetwise a few weeks before our fist trip to New York. I am a Photographer and my 17 year old son a musician so quite a mix of interests! I had asked Dan to show me the Real New York as I wasn't really interested in Times Square Ect.....
Boy did he deliver!
We spent 4/5 hrs around Queens and Long Island City
I found within 10/15 minutes it felt like we were walking with a friend and not a tour guide.
Dans knowledge/rooted passion for New York was amazing!
Dans suggestion of meeting at the beginning of our trip was great and with his recommendations of places to see and Music shops to find it kept us going for our 7day visit.
I can't recommend Streetwise and Dan enough and will certainly contact them again on my next trip.
Thanks again for a great insight to a great City.
Craig







Date of experience: September 2015
2  Thank Glosss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pod hotel"
in 49 reviews
"lower east side"
in 65 reviews
"meatpacking district"
in 55 reviews
"greenwich village"
in 82 reviews
"walking tour"
in 99 reviews
"hour tour"
in 45 reviews
"new york"
in 233 reviews
"dumbo and brooklyn heights"
in 7 reviews
"custom tour"
in 6 reviews
"great tour"
in 42 reviews
"street art"
in 15 reviews
"these guys"
in 20 reviews
"the subway system"
in 13 reviews
"bob dylan"
in 6 reviews
"private tour"
in 20 reviews
"guide book"
in 8 reviews
"the meat packing district"
in 11 reviews
Filter

248 - 252 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2015

Streetwise Walks gave us (2 adults + 2 teenage boys) a great start to a short visit to NYC. Andrew took on board our ideas and Patrick was a perfect match! Informal, flexible and covering topics from street art, politics, social history, vegan food, architecture and religion. Streetwise is unique and we would definitely book again next time.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Cumul0Nimbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2015

Great way to learn New York City. The tour is extensive and not too costly. Suitable for tourists from near and far.

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank CosChemE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2015

We did three Streetwise tours with Dan and Patrick and found each of tours extremely interesting and enjoyable. Both guys had an extensive knowledge of their city and a genuine rapport with the group. We learnt so much about New York, its history and inhabitants that you would never find in books. The tours made New York come alive for us. We would recommend these walking tours to anyone visiting New York.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank colld121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2015

Streetwise NY is the way to see the city! We enjoyed two days touring with Dan. He was fantastic and so knowledgable.

Upon arriving in NY we had one 4.5 hour tour set up with Dan. He took us (via walking and the subway) to Chelsea Market/Meat Packing District, Highline Park, SoHo, Greenwich Village, Chinatown, Little Italy. We got so much out of seeing all of these places because of having Dan with us that we asked if he could fit us in for another tour. Thankfully he was able to fit us in another day. And let me tell you, after spending two days navigating the city on our own we were so happy to see him again.
Our second day was a 3 hour tour and it was just as enjoyable. Dan guided us through the World Trade Cener area seeing places like St. Paul's Church, 9/11 Memorial, St. Vincent's, and then taking us into Brooklyn. At the end of our second day he got us to the Staten Island Ferry so we could get a closer view of the Statue of Liberty. While leaving us with tips on how to navigate the area on our own the rest of the day.

Our trip to New York was wonderful, and that is in great part due to having Dan with us. Booking with Streetwise is the only way to go!

Date of experience: September 2015
2  Thank G. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streetwise New York Tours also viewed

 

Been to Streetwise New York Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing