We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walking tours - New York”

Streetwise New York Tours
Ranked #5 of 732 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most walking tours point and stare at New York-with Streetwise New York, you live it! Streetwise New York explores neighborhoods, recounts history and studies contrast--but does so knowing that New York’s essence isn’t listed in guidebooks or displayed in museums. The true New York is melted into slices of pizza, hidden in subways, and carried in the ever-changing stories of its 8.5 million people.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed September 9, 2015

We did three Streetwise tours with Dan and Patrick and found each of tours extremely interesting and enjoyable. Both guys had an extensive knowledge of their city and a genuine rapport with the group. We learnt so much about New York, its history and inhabitants that you would never find in books. The tours made New York come alive for us. We would recommend these walking tours to anyone visiting New York.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank colld121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pod hotel"
in 49 reviews
"lower east side"
in 65 reviews
"meatpacking district"
in 55 reviews
"greenwich village"
in 82 reviews
"walking tour"
in 99 reviews
"hour tour"
in 45 reviews
"new york"
in 233 reviews
"dumbo and brooklyn heights"
in 7 reviews
"custom tour"
in 6 reviews
"great tour"
in 42 reviews
"street art"
in 15 reviews
"these guys"
in 20 reviews
"the subway system"
in 13 reviews
"bob dylan"
in 6 reviews
"private tour"
in 20 reviews
"guide book"
in 8 reviews
"the meat packing district"
in 11 reviews
Filter

251 - 255 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2015

Streetwise NY is the way to see the city! We enjoyed two days touring with Dan. He was fantastic and so knowledgable.

Upon arriving in NY we had one 4.5 hour tour set up with Dan. He took us (via walking and the subway) to Chelsea Market/Meat Packing District, Highline Park, SoHo, Greenwich Village, Chinatown, Little Italy. We got so much out of seeing all of these places because of having Dan with us that we asked if he could fit us in for another tour. Thankfully he was able to fit us in another day. And let me tell you, after spending two days navigating the city on our own we were so happy to see him again.
Our second day was a 3 hour tour and it was just as enjoyable. Dan guided us through the World Trade Cener area seeing places like St. Paul's Church, 9/11 Memorial, St. Vincent's, and then taking us into Brooklyn. At the end of our second day he got us to the Staten Island Ferry so we could get a closer view of the Statue of Liberty. While leaving us with tips on how to navigate the area on our own the rest of the day.

Our trip to New York was wonderful, and that is in great part due to having Dan with us. Booking with Streetwise is the only way to go!

Date of experience: September 2015
2  Thank G. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015

We took two Streetwise tours (an offer from the hotel chain we were staying with) and thoroughly enjoyed both. Our guides (Patrick and Dan) were friendly, helpful, audible(!) and generous with their time, both tours running over their advertised length. If you are new to New York these are a great way of getting your bearings and learning how to make the most of your time. If you think you already know New York I guarantee you will learn something new from these folk.

Highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2015
2  Thank Scotbank11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2015

We booked our tour with Streetwise for our first day of New York and it was the best thing we did. Patrick ,our tour guide, was fantastic. In 3 hours we saw so many sights that we wanted to see as well as sights we never knew about.
Patrick had an IPAD which he would show us old pictures of the current location.- which was helpful.
Thanks Streetwise and Patrick!

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank 08MGIRL08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

I joined 2 tours of Streetwise NY on my trip this week and it was great!
The first tour was to Brooklyn we had a great walk around brooklyn heights and Dumbo, which was fantastic I loved the artsy scene and I don't think I would have visited this if I hadn't gone on the tour. Ofcourse I ended it by eating the most amazing pizza at Juliana's (thanks Dan for the tip) and walking the brooklyn bridge.

The second tour I took was to the highline, chelsea market, meatpacking district and ended in Washington square park. Our guide Patrick was great he brought a lot of humor into it and a bit of his own opinion about things. Who would have known that the hotel Jay-Z and Solange were fighting in was right next to the high line;)

They take a picture of the group near to the end and send it to your email which is nice!

Thanks guys for these great tours!

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank liza1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streetwise New York Tours also viewed

 

Been to Streetwise New York Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing