We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Walking Tour of Brooklyn!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Streetwise New York Tours

Streetwise New York Tours
Ranked #13 of 585 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most walking tours point and stare at New York-with Streetwise New York, you live it. We explore neighborhoods, recount history and study contrasts-uncovering the true New York, that's melted into pizza slices, hidden in subways, and carried in the ever-changing stories of its 8 million people. From the swankiest stretches of Fifth Avenue to the grimiest of graffitied alleys, we share tales passed down from our grandparents, gleaned from books, and whispered on street corners. See website to book your own customized private tour!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Walking Tour of Brooklyn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

A friend and I went on a tour on June 19, 2014, with Dan, a very knowledgeable and pleasant guy who specializes in showing folks, even native NYers like us, aspects of the city that most people don't know. We ambled through parts of DUMBO, North Williamsburgh, and Brooklyn Heights, enjoying architecture and foliage, stores and bridges, and also took a brief-- and fun-- ferry ride.

Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wijmlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    17
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must Do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

All the foot tours are worth every second. Even if your feet are worn!
The tour guides are all locals who know special things about the different sights you see while on your tour. If they don't know the answer to any questions, they, I am sure, will find it to guarantee they know it the next time the question arises. They are personable and professional. I look forward to when I am in New York again just so I can go on more expeditions with this team.
Again, I can't say it enough, they are a definite MUST DO in New York City!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Intelligent, interesting, incisive take on social history and sights of NYC, told with wit, style and love of the city shining t”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at Pod 51, who offered tours with Streetwise. We went to Chinatown with Patrick, and DUMBO with Dan- both were excellent. "Streetwise" is a great name choice for the company, as it captures their approach-they manage to convey a nitty- gritty social history of the districts they visit, the waves of migration and shifting politics that have shaped the various areas- but easy to follow, captivating and interesting anecdotes, sharp sense of humour, and managed to see a lot in a short space of time without feeling rushed. Felt that we'd had a very priveliged insider's view of the city. If you go to NYC put Streetwise on your must do list- absolutely fabulous and unique, fun experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Various tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have used this company several times for our NYU student program and the students ALLWAYS have wonderful things to say about Andrew and Dan's tours. They have been a pleasure to work with the last few years and consistently provide us with a memorable and unique experience as we talk about the past and current cultural diversity of various neighborhoods around NYC.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Haley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Perfect Way To Experience Brooklyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

My partner and I arranged for the Thursday Brooklyn tour. The booking was extremely easy and Dan was quick to respond. The tour was very relaxed and extremely informative. Dan was very knowledgeable about the area and showed us areas we would not have known about or would have visited on our own. Dan is not your typical guide. He really made you connect with the neighborhoods and understand the changes the different neighborhoods. He remained engaged throughout the tour. This tour was great for us who wanted to see a different side of New York away from Manhattan. Definitely recommend. A+++

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank buzzkill1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streetwise New York Tours also viewed

 

Been to Streetwise New York Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing