We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good walk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Streetwise New York Tours

Streetwise New York Tours
Ranked #13 of 585 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most walking tours point and stare at New York-with Streetwise New York, you live it. We explore neighborhoods, recount history and study contrasts-uncovering the true New York, that's melted into pizza slices, hidden in subways, and carried in the ever-changing stories of its 8 million people. From the swankiest stretches of Fifth Avenue to the grimiest of graffitied alleys, we share tales passed down from our grandparents, gleaned from books, and whispered on street corners. See website to book your own customized private tour!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“A good walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We did two trips on consecutive days, one with Dan and the other with Andrew.
Both trips took us to places we would never have found or chosen to visit without them. Most enjoyable with the friendly and helpful guys.
This is a business which deserves to succeed

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimbos45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    17
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“The locals' experience in downtown Manhattan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I went on the Chinatown walking tour with a small group and had a great time.

The tour took us through Downtown Manhattan to the busy business districts of the Civic Center and the Five Points. Then winding through the small and colourful built-up alleyways of Chinatown, stopping in for some delicious authentic Chinese duck meal for lunch. Before finishing off the tour walking through the trendy cafés and pubs of the Bowery and Lower East Side districts, breaking up at the Essex Street Markets to get more food and drinks.

Andrew our guide, gives you a good introduction to New York and tries to help you fit in and get about in the best ways in this bustling city. A local himself, he shares his rich knowledge of the neighbourhoods, people and cultures, and is also a history buff and can usually tell you the history of the neighbourhoods and how they've changed.

For my own New York experience I wanted to track down good places to eat and drink and meet people, and Andrew was more than happy to point out places to me and let you know what's good to see for your own interests.

Overall a fantastic tour and a great way to start off your New York experience with a locals eye on the town!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not your usual tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This tour isn't the regular 'follow the umbrella' crap. Instead you get a knowledgable & often witty insight into NYC's lesser known areas. We went to Brooklyn & DUMBO with Dan, a real New Yorker who knew his stuff and presented it in a laid back relaxed style - a far cry from the 'everyone wear this hat/sticker & follow me' that seems to be the norm. A fab way to spend a couple of hours getting away from the crowds.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BethanC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good walking tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We toured the Lower East Side and Chinatown with Dan. He was a great guide, he focused on the history of the area as well as current events. He took us to a local market, helped us navigate the subways, and had lots of great information to share. He pointed out lots of good places to eat and shared pork dumplings with the group in Chinatown. If we had been in NYC longer we would have done some of their other tours. We will definitely do them next time we are in the City.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great tour, excellent guides!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were in NY last week and booked al 3 the walking tours from de Pod51 hotel (tour is free when you stay at one of the two Pods). Both Dan and Andrew have a great way of guiding you through the city, letting you things see, which you would have missed otherwise. They know a lot about the city, the history of the parts (Brooklyn, the Meat District, Chelsea Market, China Town....), knowing great places to eat (like Vanessa's Dumplings). I would recommend to take a tour with one of these guys!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartijnBroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streetwise New York Tours also viewed

 

Been to Streetwise New York Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing