We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see the city!”

Streetwise New York Tours
Ranked #15 of 620 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most walking tours point and stare at New York-with Streetwise New York, you live it! Streetwise New York explores neighborhoods, recounts history and studies contrast--but does so knowing that New York’s essence isn’t listed in guidebooks or displayed in museums. The true New York is melted into slices of pizza, hidden in subways, and carried in the ever-changing stories of its 8.5 million people.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great way to see the city!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked this bespoke tour for the three of us and it was brilliant. Andy our guide took us through Greenwich village, Little Italy and Chinatown and to little gems of places we would never have known about or had time to discover if we we wandering about on our own. Like Andy said you can find your way around the most obvious sights on your own. He also gave us lots of useful tips on times to avoid the big attractions such as the Empire State building and recommended good places to eat. Our 3 hour tour ran way over time but at no extra cost. Andy also told us to e mail him if we needed anyone tips and advice during the rest of our stay. If you love walking and want to be guided by a genuine local then book this tour!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Landowmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great way to get to know the city!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked our tour the day before we arrived and had no idea what we wanted to do. Three of us had been to NYC before and the other was experiencing it for the first time. When Dan arrived to meet us at our hotel, he gave us suggestions and we threw in a couple, too. He started with Central Park, took us on the subway (and taught us how to navigate it!) to Chelsea Market and the Highline, then on to Greenwich Village and Soho. Our flight had arrived at 7:30 am and we knew we wouldn't have the stamina for a 6 hour tour, so we asked for 4.5 hours. Dan fit in as much as he possibly could, and then some. I am so glad we didn't do a group tour because it would have been difficult to hear all of the interesting stories. Dan finds a way to tailor the tour to the group's interests and we didn't want it to end. We felt like we really knew the city when we were done and could navigate it over the next few days on our own. I really recommend this as a first day tour, although it would be worthwhile to do it at any point during your trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank daytonflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“You must do it!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I was having breakfast at the Pod 51 when Dan invited me for a free walking tour to Chelsea and the Meatpacking District. Why not?
It was really incredible, a non obvious tour, Dan explained all the coolest details about the locations and you could see that he really enjoyed and knew the places we were visiting.
I took only the Pod tour, but I strongly recommend a full day experience with these guys.

Helpful?
Thank thaisrenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and informative”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My mom and I went on a 6 hour private Streetwise, NY tour with Patrick as our guide on 3/9. He showed up at our meeting spot prompt an on time and was a wealth of knowledge. He made sure to ask what we were interested in doing or seeing and went from there. Some highlights of the trip were viewing the Earth Room in SoHo, visiting New York's smallest museum in Tribeca, staying on the 6 train (as it turned around to go uptown) long enough to see an old subway station, and viewing Manhattan from the promenade in Brooklyn. The 6 hours seemed to fly and we felt as if we had made a new friend by the end of our tour. I would highly recommend booking this company when visiting NYC,

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSocks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour With Dan, Fantastic Tour of The City”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I found streetwise on trip advisor and decided to contact Dan to organise a tour for my wife and i on our first day in New York. Dan replied quickly to my inquiry and asked about our interests and if there was anywhere in particular we wanted to see, its great that he tailored the tour to our interests as well as suggesting some places we had not thought of.
Dan met us in our hotel lobby and we set of on our day, he talked us through the use of the subway and how to navigate around the system, we visited many areas including union square market, lower east side, china town, little Italy, Greenwich village and Chelsea market, Meat packing District and the high line to name but a few. He was a font of knowledge and was entertaining throughout. Great tips about good restaurants (Eataly was excellent) and some fantastic street food and the pork dumplings in china town.
The tour really set us up for a great week in New York and would recommend the tour to anyone visiting the big Apple and want to delve a little deeper than the usual tourist attractions.
I have already recommended streetwise to many of our friends and i am sure they will use Dan in the future. The tour went by in a flash and never seemed to drag i think this shows that you are having a great time - we only had one complaint our feet hurt after a week of walking!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streetwise New York Tours also viewed

 

Been to Streetwise New York Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing