We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and informative”

Streetwise New York Tours
Ranked #12 of 610 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most walking tours point and stare at New York-with Streetwise New York, you live it! Streetwise New York explores neighborhoods, recounts history and studies contrast--but does so knowing that New York’s essence isn’t listed in guidebooks or displayed in museums. The true New York is melted into slices of pizza, hidden in subways, and carried in the ever-changing stories of its 8.5 million people.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and informative”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My mom and I went on a 6 hour private Streetwise, NY tour with Patrick as our guide on 3/9. He showed up at our meeting spot prompt an on time and was a wealth of knowledge. He made sure to ask what we were interested in doing or seeing and went from there. Some highlights of the trip were viewing the Earth Room in SoHo, visiting New York's smallest museum in Tribeca, staying on the 6 train (as it turned around to go uptown) long enough to see an old subway station, and viewing Manhattan from the promenade in Brooklyn. The 6 hours seemed to fly and we felt as if we had made a new friend by the end of our tour. I would highly recommend booking this company when visiting NYC,

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSocks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    17
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour With Dan, Fantastic Tour of The City”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I found streetwise on trip advisor and decided to contact Dan to organise a tour for my wife and i on our first day in New York. Dan replied quickly to my inquiry and asked about our interests and if there was anywhere in particular we wanted to see, its great that he tailored the tour to our interests as well as suggesting some places we had not thought of.
Dan met us in our hotel lobby and we set of on our day, he talked us through the use of the subway and how to navigate around the system, we visited many areas including union square market, lower east side, china town, little Italy, Greenwich village and Chelsea market, Meat packing District and the high line to name but a few. He was a font of knowledge and was entertaining throughout. Great tips about good restaurants (Eataly was excellent) and some fantastic street food and the pork dumplings in china town.
The tour really set us up for a great week in New York and would recommend the tour to anyone visiting the big Apple and want to delve a little deeper than the usual tourist attractions.
I have already recommended streetwise to many of our friends and i am sure they will use Dan in the future. The tour went by in a flash and never seemed to drag i think this shows that you are having a great time - we only had one complaint our feet hurt after a week of walking!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun in New York with Streetwise New York Tours!!!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I contacted Streetwise New York Tours after reading the favorable reviews on Trip Advisor. Dan responded quickly to my inquiry and we made arrangements to meet in New York. We spent a morning exploring New York City with Dan. He listened to our interests and worked hard to find unique and interesting places to take us. Dan was lively, friendly and engaging! We had two 16 year old girls with us, and Dan managed to tailor aspects of the tour to their interests, too. Dan was professional, courteous and a first class tour guide!!

I highly recommend Dan and Streetwise New York Tours for a fun way to see New York City!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well-informed, quirky and exceptionally helpful and good-natured tour”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Andrew met us at our apartment in Greenwich Village on our first morning in NYC and immediately gave us a sense of our locality, pointing out that our street was where the iconic Bob Dylan album Freewheelin' cover photo was taken. He was thoughtful about accommodating our interests and gave us an eclectic mix of history, architecture, pop culture and the immigrant experience, taking us on a fascinating tour of lower Manhattan, including Chelsea, Chinatown and the Lower East Side. As a native New Yorker, he drew on his personal knowledge of the city to inform us about the history and culture, both past and more recent of the neighbourhoods we visited. Andrew also showed us how to use the the subway which is fairly daunting for first-timers and helped us feel confident enough to travel solo at the end of the tour. He was exceptionally kind and helpful when one of our party left a camera in a shop on our trail and tirelessly tracked it down for us. He was also good at taking us to out of the way places like the Sephardic-Romaniot synagogue and Essex Market. Andrew's relaxed and unhurried style was great, very reassuring, and yet we still managed to see so much and our half-day with him, which was without a doubt one of the most memorable of our stay,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seraphim16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thank you Dan and Andrew!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A walk with Andrew or Dan had been recommended to us by a friend of a friend and what a great recommendation it was! Our communications were initially with Andrew and his responses were always prompt and informative. We were a family of 6 (4 adult children) looking to see New York through the eyes of a New Yorker, we were not disappointed. On the day of our tour, as arranged Dan met us punctually at our accommodation and we set out on a tour that we designed as we went to meet the interests of all in the group. Dan was most accommodating to this flexible approach. His knowledge, experience and relaxed manner made this most rewarding for all. He shared with us many aspects of NY that we would never have found in a guide book. The only disappointing part was how quickly the time passed and you could easily enjoy a full day tour with this company. In fact we enjoyed ours so much that that evening we made another booking with Dan to do a walking tour of Brooklyn. Once again we were not disappointed. -Peter and Amanda, Sydney

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LucyDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streetwise New York Tours also viewed

 

Been to Streetwise New York Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing