We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Everything I expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #55 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Everything I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Having spent some time looking through Trip Advisor's reviews, I decided to book the Sofitel and I can say I was not disappointed. We have stayed in many luxury hotels around the world including the Burj in Dubai so it is always difficult to decide on a hotel. I can honestly say the Sofitel was brilliant. We had a junior suite ( room 1022) and it was very spacious and clean. Again, very quiet room either because it is soundproofed well or that other guests respect others staying there too. Lovely deep bath and the bed was comfortable. Room service was very efficient too. My partner had business to do while we were there which included a 200 mile drive from New York to visit a customer and the concierge were very helpful in printing out directions and a map for him to use for his travel. All the staff were very pleasent and helpful. We were not bothered by housekeeping in fact, I had a lovely chat one day with one of the housekeeping staff. They were all very friendly. Furthermore, the hotel is in an excellent location as other people have mentioned. Didn't enjoy the Red Flame diner down the road it was like a truckers cafe so would not recommend to eat there.
An added bonus was bumping into the tallest man in the world who was also staying in the hotel at the time! Hotel also gave us a later check out too when we asked. One other point I would mention is that the lobby has 3 computers with free internet access and this was a real bonus so no need to pay for internet unless of course you want it in the privacy of your own room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,731
    1,528
    353
    110
    55
See reviews for
942
2,636
317
763
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Truly had a 5 star experience. The room was amazing, 2 large double beds really clean, large flat screen TV, huge bathroom, turndown service The staff were so friendly and helpful. Thanks sofitel, we had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gertie990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Wonderful service from the moment we arrived, large and luxurious room, large bathroom for new york with top of the range ameneties. Very comfortable bed. Breakast was one of the highlights - both fresh and tasty. Could not be in a better location and cannot wait to return next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonjayme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed in New York for about 3 days and had a wonderful time!
Our hotel was very central and this really helped. We were just down the road from Times Square and managed to walk all over the city from where we were.
The room was bigger than I expected (I'd been told New York hotel rooms are always very small) and we had a very roomy bathroom with separate bath and shower. We stayed on the 14th floor, and it was very quiet and pleasant.
The reception and concierge staff were all efficient, though a little lacking in the warmth we had come to expect of hotel staff in the USA, perhaps this is a New York thing though.
I did feel it was a bit overpriced, particularly breakfast, but again I think this is to do with prices in New York, so can't really complain.
All in all a really lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weddingvisi2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed at the Sofitel NYC last weekend. Great location close to everything. The staff is amazing I was really impressed with how friendly and accommodating they were. Do not be shy to ask for anything.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

This hotel is lovely. I loved the location, the pleasant staff, the upscale amenities, and Gaby Restaurant located on the street level of the hotel. My son was bumbed that the hotel didn't have Nickelodeon, but we weren't in the hotel room that much.

I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoriBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

The Sofitel is just a perfect hotel, location is great near Times Square and everybody (read: all cab drivers) knows it. Rooms are spacious when you know you are in NYC.

The concierge were great for helping us with our flight schedule and by giving us a free box (our luggage was overweight). However they were not so good at arranging and knowing the best places to hang out (nightlife), hence arranging this on labor day weekend can be a pain in the @$$ everywhere...

During our stay there were only 2 downsides:
1. The WIFI in the hotel is not free. If you have such a great hotel, just do WIFI also free of charge. It's only annoying for the guests.
2. We had a not disturbing sign on the door, however the cleaning lady opened the door if we needed housekeeping around 9:00 AM on LABOR DAY!

However the second downside was perfectly "solved" by the front desk which gave us a late check out free of charge the moment they heard this from us. Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H4L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#34 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,069 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,132 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#48 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#53 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,524 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#132 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,036 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#41 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing