We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Hotel at Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zug
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern Hotel at Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Hotel rooms were nice, spaceful, modern and clean. Also easy access to WLAN. We liked in particular the good location closed to most theatres, nightlife and shopping. Good value for the price paid and staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vitkoriia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our very spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,040
    1,672
    382
    125
    65
See reviews for
1,062
2,868
339
854
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

On business, centrally located midtown hotel near Times sq etc.. Not flashy, discreet luxury hotel. Traditional not design. Good courteous staff. Rooms as you would expect from Sofitel. Had breakfast daily, ok but expensive for what it is. Public areas well kept. Could do with a gym and an exec lounge. Overall good stay, convenient for me as close to office. NO wow factor per Se but of high standard nethertheless.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend this hotel to my worse enemy. Staff is obnoxious and arrogant - they talk with you in French and when you try to explain things in English they laugh and talk between themselves in french.

I never experienced such a disrespectful service; when you pay over $1000 a night you expect way more. If I would want to experience rude french service I would go to Paris, not New York.

Do yourself a favor and stay far away from this hotel!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank Sport_guy_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards of our hotel. I deeply regret that our Staff sounded disrespectful with you. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your “fantastic” Junior Suite both times.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another third time stay.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC971
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

I booked an Executive Suite, which was well worth the extra cost, it became an oasis from the the New York madness. Our room was located at the end of a corridor, so nice and quiet. Yes, the room was a bit tired, but I am being a little fussy. My only real issue was that the wi-fi it was really poor, couldn't get any reliable signal, had to keep reconnecting and reconnecting. It was infuriating.
Overall, with the wi-fi exception an excellent hotel, good location and treat yourself to the executive suite.

Room Tip: As for a room at the end of a corridor, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you enjoyed our central location and that you find our staff good.

We are sorry for the inconvenient you went through because of our internet, however the company is upgrading the Wifi system.

Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another stay.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kritzendorf
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Hotel is perfectly located, just 1 block away from Times Square, but in a quiet street.
The rooms are beautiful, spacious, the famous Sofitel beds ( cloud nine :)), very nice bathrooms - the amenitiys from Hermes are pure Spa feeling....
The staff is friendly and zealous in all areas.
The Wifi in the rooms ( complimentary) is quite fast and also available in the lobby and the restaurant.
The only thing that is really annoying is the long waiting for your breakfast....it takes at least 30-40 minutes from entering the restaurant, before you have your chosen breakfast on the plate.the quality is great, especially the Croissants and the baguetts, but you need a lot of time......so if you have an appointment in the morning, skip breakfast in the hotel and look for something outside...
But apart from that, we will definetly never go to any other hotel in manhattan ever ......Sofitel is the only choice :-)

Room Tip: The higher up, the nicer is the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hegi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our very spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

great things:
- its 2min walking distance of times square
- amazing Springbock bed - youll thank me later for that - loved it
- rooms are pretty large for NY
- great concierge service
- the Bose radio was great
- tons of power sockets

to consider:
- Wifi: registering with the Wifi took ages - with a Samsung, iphone, ipad and laptop > I guess the reception highly depends but if it takes minutes to get the page loaded to sign up, its a pity nowadays
-Cool: its not a hip and cool "Sofitel So" like in Bangkok where the statt wears Christian Lecroix dresses, its rather a bit old-french-fashioned. Its beautiful but its unfortunately not really this century hip

- Issue: we had an issue that they were not sure whether they had already booked the amount on my credit card, since we arrived friday night, they double booked until we checked out wednesday - honestly, for such a hotel double booking should not happen. It was a corporate credit card where I had to explain my boss why such a high standard hotel was not capable of handling this and why he had to extend the card limit. There was in the end no excuse or attempt of saying that they were sorry.


Overall, its a great place. Its pricy but its central and the bed will make you sleep like a baby. The service could be a bit better, but maybe we just had 2 guys which were new. ovrall - would recommend it

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York and for taking the time to share your comments.

We regret that you had an issue with our Wi-fi and with the booking. This is unacceptable and we are sincerely sorry.

However we are very please to know that you enjoyed the great location , the bed, the size of the rooms, the concierges.

Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was our third stay at the Sofitel We chose the Sofitel once again for its location and value. Unfortunately, we wont be returning unless there is a major remodel of the rooms. The drapes would not open. The carpet was frayed. The electrical outlets above the dresser were not installed correctly. The phone in the bathroom was removed (not that we would use it anyway).
The Sofitel is not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BelieverMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel.

Again, please accept our apologies. We are pleased that you felt the staff was pleasant. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again when all of our floor will be renovated so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,492 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing