We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Understated and Professional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #55 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Understated and Professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I always can count on Sofitel, NYC, to have high standards of care and professionalism. Not necessarily flashy, but subdued excellence. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The staff is responsive. It's my go-to spot to stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Quiet neighborhood enough off Times Square area to be quiet throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbee734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you enjoyed our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,768
    1,548
    355
    110
    55
See reviews for
953
2,667
319
774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location for our 4 night stay in NYC. Rooms were clean, spacious and very quiet. Our room was near the elevators, but we didn't hear a thing.

We had a queen room, but by Aus standards it was more like a double. I would suggest a king room for a bigger bead.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Will stay again for our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chookarach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our very spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I'm surprised to see all of the other great reviews as I found this hotel to be mediocre in comparison to the price. Perhaps it was so expensive when I was there as it was NYE. The room was quite small and there wasn't a view of anything other than the building infront of ours. There was nothing about this hotel that really stood out in my mind, other than the location. You could walk to Times Square in minutes, very centrally located. With that said there was nothing to complain about either. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York and for taking the time to share your comments.

We are sincerely sorry that you found the room small and we regret that you didn't have a nice view of the city. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take steps we can to improve our service.

However, we are pleased to know that our staff helped you during your stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

we (a family of 4 with 2 teens) stayed in 2 rooms (superior rooms) at the Sofitel in mid July for 4 nights. We were on the 22nd floor which was perfect as there was no noise. The location is excellent, only a 5 minute walk from 5th Avenue and Times Square but without the noise. There was a minor issue with the room key for one of the rooms not working a few times which was fixed by the staff immediately. The rooms were spacious, the bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have the option of both a bathtub and a shower. The concierge was great, his information about walking times and distances were spot on and he knew what he was doing. Overall it was an excellent stay and I would definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband booked this for the two of us for a fun weekend in NYC before traveling south for more touring. After a long day of sight seeing we were happy to sleep in the most comfortable hotel bed ever.--loved the duvet bed linens too! NYC is loud with activity but we couldn't hear a thing from our room, not even normal hotel noises such as elevators, ice machines and other guests coming and going. We stayed at 2 other hotels on our trip in Philly and DC and none compared to this cozy and quiet hotel well situated in the city. We'll go to another Sofitel again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing again and again to stay with us at the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan, our very quiet property and the comfortable bedroom . All our bedding items are available for purchase on our website.

Thank you again for all your interest, we look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerly
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We liked everything about the hotel - excellent location, room, Sofitel standards of service, value for money. We are fans of the Sofitel chain - have stayed at their properties around the world and we were not disappointed in this one. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Higher floors street view very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank montrealchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan. We are also glad that you enjoyed our comfortable bedroom and the different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

my wife and I stayed got away for a weekend treat, We stayed at the sofitel for two days. The hotel is very pricey but we felt that it was worth the money. The room was larger then some one bedroom apartments that you would find in New York. The setup of the room was really fun with a separate living room and changing room. Our room window just so happened to look out into the direction of the empire state building. The staff service was very good, but lookout for room service we did have a incident there. However the hotel comes complete with everything you will need for a fun weekend in NY.

Room Tip: The suites are very large, if you are traveling with kids you will have plenty of space
See more room tips
Green Features: everyone in the hotel was always willing to help you with locating whatever it was that you wanted to do. located near good inexpensive restaurants and the shopping was an adventure.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenjjeanpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#36 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,119 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,176 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#53 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,908 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#59 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,128 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#41 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing