We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel New York
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$318
$296
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$170
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lucerne Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$322
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Muse Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$267
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$201
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$302
$269
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness center
Stewart Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Kimberly Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$279
$265
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$303
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$420
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,847)
Filter reviews
6,847 results
Traveler rating
4,409
1,800
425
140
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,409
1,800
425
140
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red flame dinergaby restaurantnew yorktimes squarechrysler buildingseparate showerroom serviceturn down servicebryant parkfifth avenuelate checkgrand central stationhigh floorbottle of champagnequiet streetrockefeller centerfantastic hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,103 - 2,108 of 6,847 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We are impressed with the overall environment of the hotels. Great, friendly staff and we felt welcome upon check in. Great facilities, if you need to check in or print any reservations and bookings there is an area where you can do that. Staff are very approachable and willing to help.

Very comfortable, spacious and clean room.

As a Le Club Accorhotels Gold member there are no recognition at all, they just thank you for being their loyalty member.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhtkiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you enjoyed our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Had ANOTHER great stay at Sofitel. Pressures and anxieties of a busy travel schedule are immediately washed away upon arrival. Gracious staff (Louis Lenglet deserves a medal for his attentiveness), excellent bathroom soap, super fast elevators, thoughtful turn down service, Paris meets NYC art work and the LOCATION! I will be staying here again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bencassidyjune3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your first stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and kids for 8 days. Checkin was quick. The room was a suite with a bedroom,sitting room with sofabed and a bathroom. The best thing about this hotel is its location. Times square is 10 mins walk,Bryant park 5 mins and central park around 20 mins. Housekeeping was good and whatever instructions given would be followed. For us breakfast was included in the tariff. It is alacarte which includes a main dish, a juice, a beverage and breads. Staff at breakfast was friendly providing good service. The conceirge though very friendly,seemed to have limited knowledge but we were lucky to find Elvis the bellboy. He is a local guy whose suggestions on the places to visit and how to get there were very useful. Maday at the front desk and Ronald the restaurant staff at breakfast were good at there work giving a personal touch to their service. There is only one problem at this hotel. They make a lot of mistakes in billing for the room. I asked for my room statement on day 5 and breakfast was charged for all days and also 2 lunches in their restaurant which I never had. Again at the time of checkout the same mistake- breakfast and lunches charged. However they immediately acknowledged the mistake on both occasions and knocked off the wrong entries. So I suggest if you are staying here take a copy of your room statement the night before checkout to study it. It will save time while checking out the next day. However I consider this insignificant compared to the other plus points this hotel has. Will definitely be staying here on my next visit to newyork.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank ritzytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our amenities. We are also glad that you found our staff very professional. We are very sorry for the inconvenient you went through because of the billing.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have stayed in numerous hotels in NYC (Muse, Crown Plaza, Sanctuary, Park Central) but the Sofitel is my favorite by far. It has a perfect location - between 5th and 6th. The rooms are large by NYC standards and impeccably clean. The entire hotel is well kept and comfortable. The staff is always eager to help. You can't go wrong staying at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 774Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend trip to New York, it was an excellent base for exploring as it was really central and close to all the public transport links.

The hotel itself was amazing, you walk in and someone was there to help. Everything explained clearly at check in and when we reached our room it was excellent! what i loved was the separate bath and shower! the room was immaculately clean (some hotels i have been too have stained carpet or some little niggle). The bed was amazingly comfy!

On the day we were leaving we had a late flight, the concierge let us leave our luggage with them for the day and when we went back for our luggage negotiated a town car to take us to the airport i reckon at a cheaper price than a yellow cab, as the cab would've been on a ticker and there was traffic.

I'm sad i didn't get to spend more time in the hotel. I want to check out the gym and restaurant.

I will be back :D

Room Tip: Breakfast in the diner next door was very authentic and much cheaper than the hotel
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan. We are also glad that you enjoyed our comfortable bedroom and the different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews