We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“shower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #55 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“shower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Everything about the stay was terrific except for the shower. The shower was not separated by a ledge or tub, so water from the shower would inevitably go all over the bathroom. It made for a messy slippery floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer. We are sorry for the inconvenient you went through because of the water supply.

Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another stay.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,716
    1,520
    352
    110
    55
See reviews for
939
2,617
317
763
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Well located, friendly, efficient hotel. Room clean and well decorated. The breakfast area is not very well done and we chose to eat out for breakfast. Overall, not quite up to Sofitel's standards in Europe, but pretty good for NY.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I really like the location of this property. There is a parking garage right across the street, the Red Flame Diner is on the same block (perfect for breakfast and/or lunch). And there is a Duane Reade at 44th and Ave of the Americas and 44th and 5th, for snacks, drinks or anything you forgot to pack. I've stayed here a couple of times and like its location close to everything but away from the crowds. I've never had sirens or construction equipment or rubbish collection waking me in the middle of the night. A little pricey, but as close to perfect as you can get in the Times Square area.

There was a slight delay at check-in, annoying, but we were a little early and the 1/2 hour wait passed by quickly. A TV was not working but was addressed fairly quickly. I usually don't eat at the hotel, other than room service for a late night snack, but decided to try breakfast. Lots of open tables but was asked to wait, and then tried to sit us in a corner in a crowded area of the restaurant. I just walked out so i don't know how the food is. I was disappointed to see a "B" grade for the restaurant by the NYC Dept of Health as I exited the restaurant, so maybe I did not miss anything.

These minor issues aside, this is a very good/excellent hotel that is clean, quiet and comfortable. I will definitely stay here again and will continue to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MATravelerBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you enjoyed our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed in a sofabed suite on the 29th floor and the hotel was quiet and peaceful. We all got a great nights sleep in the brilliant beds - although the shower in the bathroom was disappointing as although the bathroom was well equipped the shower only provided a dribble of water. The room service was great - lovely steak frites and all the trimmings. Great location near to the Blue Flame diner for breakfast. All in all a great stay they couldn't have been more helpful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank claire_jebson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and that you found that our room service was "great". Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and our stay. From the moment we stepped into the Sofitel until the moment we had to leave, everything was wonderful and the staff was always pleasant with a smile. We stayed for several days and enjoyed everything the Sofitel had to offer. Every time we interacted with staff, it was always special. The manager, Mark Butler, met us and showed us around and offered to always help. The food was fantastic as well. We will be back! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Best room is with a terrace!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomenicaCresap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you ffound our staff very professional.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Excellent Service! Beds are very comfortable and rooms very well appointed. Great location. Would highly recommend this hotel. Stayed in many NYC hotels and by far this is one of the best! Walking distance to many restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta2167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our very spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,057 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,119 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#52 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#54 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#135 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,996 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#36 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing