We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Cosy Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
tallahassee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location, Cosy Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Really enjoyed the location. Access to all areas of the city required only a short cab ride. The rooms were small but comfortable and well kept. My wife and I enjoyed the bar/restaurant within the hotel. It served as a beginning/ending point for our adventures. Price was very reasonable with everything considered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinermgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,031
    1,668
    382
    124
    65
See reviews for
1,055
2,865
338
852
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HERTFORDSHIRE UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently during a long weekend visit . Had high hopes after such excellent reviews . Not disappointed. Had requested a high floor having booked a suite. Had the top floor ( room 2915) and views on three sides , which was just fantastic. Being so high , no road noise at all. Lower floors will be ok too as the street the hotel is on, despite being two blocks fromTimes sq , is quiet. All staff we met were courteous and friendly at all times. Had some minor issues with night staff but sorted very efficiently by managers . Breakfast is expensive and we had paid for it to be included ,otherwise it would work out to be quite a lot. Diner next door was busy and looked good but hotel breakfasts were fine. Did not use bar as looks bland. Did go next door to the Lanterns Keep...don't waste your time or money . Beds very very comfortable , linens suitably luxurious . Locale is so convenient , short walks to everywhere . 45 mins to JFK. Take a cab as fixed fare . Decor etc all good, no obvious evidence of wear and tear . Rooms are bigger than average for NYC . Not as large as suites at the Conrad Downtown but that's not as convenient . Overall , will be the hotel for us in Midtown when we visit again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FLYINGDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Answer
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you enjoyed our central location and to know that you found the bedroom very comfortable and spacious. We are sorry for the inconvenient you went through because of the night staff . We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem

Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another stay.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our stay at the Hotel Sofitel was excellent. My wife and I went to NYC for a long weekend and stayed two nights at the Sofitel. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by a warm and professional staff that did not miss a beat throughout our stay. The hotel is well maintained and guest rooms are surprisingly "large" for what you would expect for Midtown Manhattan

We did not utilize all of the facilities that the hotel had to offer, but our room was very accommodating, and the location is IDEAL. You can walk to nearly all of Manhattan's main attractions right from the Sofitel.

All and all, a great hotel and when we return to NYC we will definitely book with the Sofitel again.

Room Tip: The beds are not the most comfortable, so if there is a room upgrade that features a better mattress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your first stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our different amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Fantastic views from room, spacious, clean but most of all I don't think I've ever had a better sleep anywhere in the world that compares to the mattress send pillows in this room. Could hardly get out it in the morning to go sightseeing as it was unbelievably comfy. Hotel is situated in the heart of New York and so near everything we wanted to see. A short walk from most sights or a wee taxi journey. When I go back I am definitely booking this hotel. Brilliant

Room Tip: High room for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayg173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan and that you found our bedroom very "comfy”. All our bedding items are for purchase on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed in SoftTel for 3 nights before Christmas. Its location is fantastic, the lobby is elegantly decorated for the season, the room is nice and clean and the bed is comfortable. but I will not recommend this hotel for the following reasons: the service is cold and unwelcoming; the room is small; and it's very very expensive (over$700 just for the room). When we arrived, the room was not ready so we had to wait, that was OK. My daughter was all chatty and commented on the decorations, but they could not bother to even respond on her comments. I know it's in NYC, everything is expensive, I get that but I was also expecting better services and better rooms for that price tag. You can get better services and better rooms with half the price paid for SfotTel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaGogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We regret to read that you and your family did not enjoy your stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

We will look closely into the issues you have brought to light and we hope you will give us another chance in the future to experience Sofitel New York and gain your entire satisfaction and trust.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel was awesome from the staff to the room. It met every expectation I had and the attached restaurant even exceeded what I expected in some ways. The staff is willing to help out and direct you anywhere you want to go, and the recommendations are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York; that you enjoyed our staff professionalism and the different amenities. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
313 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

we always stay here. very good service, excelent concierge desk.
centrally located on 44 th street , close to all the shopping areas
walking distance
rooms are extraordinary and sleep quality is 10 out of 10

Room Tip: get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you enjoyed our central location.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another “excelent” stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,491 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing