We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #69 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel was awesome from the staff to the room. It met every expectation I had and the attached restaurant even exceeded what I expected in some ways. The staff is willing to help out and direct you anywhere you want to go, and the recommendations are excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York; that you enjoyed our staff professionalism and the different amenities. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,143 - 2,149 of 6,660 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

we always stay here. very good service, excelent concierge desk.
centrally located on 44 th street , close to all the shopping areas
walking distance
rooms are extraordinary and sleep quality is 10 out of 10

Room Tip: get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you enjoyed our central location.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another “excelent” stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have been visiting NYC for our anniversary for years. We stay at the Sofitel because we like the location and the rooms. Being frequent guests we always request a high floor. This trip we were offered a room on the 14th floor which we did not find optimal. The desk clerk offered us a jr suite on the 25th floor for $100 more. These are lovely rooms as we have stayed in them before so we took it. This is the first time we have ever felt disappointed in the front desk staff. We realize not all requests can be granted but she came across unfriendly. Our suite was fabulous and the clerk did surprise us with a wonderful anniversary dessert delivered to our room. All in all we had an amazing weekend with enjoyable views of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank just4funNewtown_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you enjoyed our central location and to know that you found the room
"fabulous".
We thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York for this specific occasion.
We are sorry for the inconvenient you went through because of the desk staff. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem

Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another stay.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent the weekend in NYC and decided on Sofitel because of the central location.It's two minutes away from Grand Central and the same two minutes from Times Square.
Rooms are large, clean with nice bathrooms.Comfortable beds.There is no fridge in the room, just the bar one, but there is ice on the ice machine.we were upgraded to a higher floor and the view from the 23-th was quite spectacular.
Didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but there is a "Au bon pain" very close.
Great choice in NYC.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the spacious bedroom.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

everything was as expected (except the very cold weather:-)) perfect location, clean and nice room - hotel, friendly people, free internet, very good breakfast. I didn't find something to suggest! Next time we will again stay there

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Stylianos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you enjoyed our central location.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another “excelent” stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

First of all, I am a very experienced and international traveler both for business and for leisure. In addition, I am very experienced and fond of the Sofitel brand. As a former Accor Platinum member I have stayed in Sofitels all across the world (Buenos Aires, Brussels, Bangkok, Krabi, Paris, Vienna and in NYC). So I know what to expect from a Sofitel branded hotel and as I also stayed in quite some Mandarin Orientals, I know what the benchmark is, in this range of hotels. As I was told by a Sofitel GM, that Sofitel wants tom compete with the Mandarin Oriental, Four Seasons, Ritz, etc range. In addition, I have extensive hospitality experience across Europe and South-East Asia.

With my Accor points and as a Platinum member at that time, I arranged a stay with my earned Accor points. We stayed in New York for 4 nights total, as I had some point left, I first stayed for 3 nights at the JW Marriott Essex House at Central Park, we were at the Sofitel New York for 1 night.

After having a great experience at the JW Marriott, expectations were high for the Sofitel New York. Not only because of the Sofitel brand, but also because of the top 10 position on Tripadvisor at the time (April 2013).

Arriving
The lobby of the hotel looks exact as in the pictures, nicely done Art Deco. It is close to Times Square. First impression is that although there are a lot of doormen, nobody cares to take the luggage out of the cab. At the reception desk, service is not great either, although we arrive at 3 PM the room is not ready, however she will give me a call on my cell when when the room is available. Also, as a platinum Accor member at the time, no upgrade or pro-actively offered a welcome drink. At 5 PM I still did not get a message about the room, so I called myself.

Staying
The room was nicely done, has the Sofitel chique and is very big for NYC standards. Bigger than my upgraded room at the JW Marriott Essex house. Also the bathroom, shower and especially the bed is great. Next day at breakfast there was a huge line, and it was very hectic. Waiters were very unfriendly, we had to wait for 2 min before seated and after 30 min we got our a-la-carte breakfast, which was nice by the way, but the overall experience was not what I am used to at Sofitel. Especially for a Sofitel in NYC, you expect something better.

Leaving
Again a bit of arrogant attitude when checking out, but again no recognition or appreciation of my Accor status at that time. Overall in terms of service and experience in this price range, I expected more. Especially comparing to my Sofitel experiences.

Now comes the GOOD part!
Back home in the Netherlands I got an automated feedback form, which I filled out in a honest and detailed way. As I know that in most Sofitels the GM's read this feedback. And guess what? After a couple of days I got a personal e-mail from mr Jorge Tito, the GM. He apologised and recognised my feedback. He even invited my for a personal conf call to have a short conversation. During that conversation he offered my a free stay for one night including breakfast as a gesture to compensate for my bad experience.

This shows again, feedback it truly a gift! From both sides! Other hotel owners / GMs can learn from this, as feedback from your customers is so important to improve your business.

So I am back in January for a longer stay! I've arranged a package deal directly with the PA of the GM. So within a month I hope I can leave and "excellent" feedback on Tripadvisor! I will definitely write a very detailed review on Tripadvisor again to share my Sofitel experience again!


About this reviewer:

I hope this review will help you in your travel. My reviews are objective, independent and unbiased. This reviewer is an experienced international traveler, especially across Europe and South East Asia; check my profile and other reviews! Please do contact me for any additional information or clarification! And please check out my other reviews.

---------------------------------------------
Platinum Elite, SPG Gold member, Marriott Gold Elite and A | Club (Sofitel) (fomer) Platinum member

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andres_Boot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I just stayed here for 2 nights and I really regret staying just for a short time. I would definitely want to stay here again this year because I loved everything about the hotel. The hotel itself very great plus great employees, ITS THE BEST!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel11288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York; that you enjoyed our staff professionalism and the different amenities. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,787 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 470 in New York City
3,694 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#77 of 470 in New York City
3,613 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 470 in New York City
4,478 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#43 of 470 in New York City
3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#59 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $239 - $794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing