We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Occasion Experience”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #75 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 27, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank TravelMom269
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,279 - 2,285 of 6,775 reviews

An Accor traveler
Singapore, Singapore
41
Reviewed November 26, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank goldmine724
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I travel to New York 3 or 4 times a year for short business trips and now I always stay at the Sofitel. First, the rooms are large unlike so many New York hotels, and comfortably furnished, the beds are especially good, after an 8 hour flight you need something to help you sleep. As always it was spotlessly clean when I arrived. I use room service especially on my first night as I generally arrive around 10pm. It's fast and efficient though daily specials would be nice. The staff are friendly, courteous and efficient. Top marks for a great hotel that hits all the spots.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank DavidHammondLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay again and again with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our quiet property, the amenities we offer and our staff professionalism.

We wish you a very nice stay at the Sofitel Chicago and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with a group of girlfriends for a hen party, we didn't spend much time at the hotel or use many of the facilities but the beds were amazingly comfortable and the rooms were quiet with everything you could need! Except tea making facilities!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank theclaw2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our room. All our bedding items are available for purchase on our website.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York on your next anniversary. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just checked out this morning. It was our 6th visit to Sofitel as a family of four from November 21st-24th. We booked the usual Junior Suite High Floor with Sofabed and was expecting what we were used to, a beautiful open concept room, yellow warms walls and sliding doors into the living room. What we got was a choppy room full of walls painted gray - very depressing. Nothing open concept or warm about this room. It was terrible. The SoBed that we are used to was non existent - terrible mattress and the Sofabed that my children slept in was concaved in the middle. We are so tired from our vacation because we hardly slept! Not at all what we are used to - to say the least. I was waiting for the concierge to ask me how we enjoyed our stay but that never happened because he probably knew how terrible this room is! When we brought our luggage down at 8:15am to meet our car service I had a hard time getting out of the first door inside the hotel because I had a stroller with a few bags on top of it. The doorman told me I should have had someone bring down my bags in a sarcastic manner. He was in no mood to help me. That was it for me. We paid $2289.28 for 3 nights and we stayed in Room 2606. Feeling ripped off. Sofitel NYC should treat their returning customers a little better than this. Poor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problems mentioned.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Every time I come here for work I stay in this hotel. It's not just good. It is consistently so. Perfectly designed rooms. Great service. Immense comfort. It even smells great. I've yet to find a bad Sofitel. This may be the best of them

I literally cannot think of a bad thing to say about this place.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank dans_diatribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your third stay again at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience, that you enjoyed our quiet property and our service policy.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another “Perfect Stay”. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 473 in New York City
3,847 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 473 in New York City
3,771 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 473 in New York City
3,934 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#138 of 473 in New York City
5,963 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#113 of 473 in New York City
4,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#63 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $261 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing