We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, super staff.”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed in a gorgeous suite on 25th floor. Great location, lovely friendly staff, always there to help. Beautiful reception area sets the standard. For the price you would expect to get tea making facilities in the room rather than having to pick it up from the bar each morning. Loved it nevertheless.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank BillyboyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the professionalism of our staff and enjoyed our different amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,225 - 2,231 of 6,655 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MerlinoMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had stayed at The Sofitel about five years ago and enjoyed my stay so I returned for my next trip to New York. The staff are very helpful and friendly, very efficient check in. The Concierge, Vladimir, gave my daughter and I some excellent restaurant recommendations.
However, I feel the hotel is now in need of some refurbishment.The Lobby could do with a bit of smartening up, at present it has old and tired looking sofas and carpets.
The bedrooms are a good size but could be cleaner. the carpet and decor in the bedroom is also very tired looking and dated. The Bathroom though was clean and also a good size. The beds are extremely comfortable.
There is quite a lot of noise from other room doors closing with a bang and also the A/C in the rooms is fairly loud.
Breakfast I found disappointing, not great service and extortionately expensive.
It is though in a brilliant location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G.GREENWOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, that you enjoyed our central location and that you found our beds were "extremely comfortable".

We regret that you experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. While that individual does not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve. I have requested that our head of human resources institute a review of our training procedures.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in november. Firstly the hotel is not as luxurios as you are led to believe with bedrooms a bit jaded, moving on to the bathroom, the sink was cracked and don't try and have a relaxing bath as it is that shallow you will struggle to fill it with enough water to cover your privates.
Moving on to room service. We ordered a meal with wine ext and were fully aware of the rather extortionate service charge and 3.5 dollar charge per order. My wife who was in her bathrobe received the tray as I was in the bathroom, she was made to feel very uncomfortable and intimidated by the man waiting for an extra tip, after a few moments of searching for my wallet and the man still waiting she explaind to him that she couldn't find any money so he left muttering under his breath. When we checked out we explained to reception about this and at first we received an apology and the service charge would be removed from the bill, after speaking to her superior this was reversed and we received some sort of apology for this mans behaviour and they would advise the staff to recognise when it is not appropiate to hang around waiting for a tip, but basically she said, you are in New York and this is how we do things.

We ate at the hotel restuarant and the food was adequate, on receiving the bill we were advised in bold red of 3 levels of service charge, thanks sofitel. How refreshing it was when we ate at Triomphe nex door and we could make our own mind up about a tip and guess what they received more because of that.
Rant over, Wont be rushing back.

1  Thank FiShack
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We regret that you experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. While those individuals do not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve. I have requested that our head of human resources institute a review of our training procedures

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was on a biz trip in NYC recently and stayed at the Sofitel. The staff at both the restaurant and front desk were great. I had a room on the 3rd floor and though the view was of another building, the room itself was quite nice. I would stay here again...

Room Tip: Definitely go above the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCPRPRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the professionalism of our staff and enjoyed our different amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I'll start with what I liked about the hotel. The decor is very nice, elegant but welcoming at the same time. The bathrooms are also really nice. The staff greet you in french and seem fairly friendly and attentive.

What I had an issue with was the beds, which have absolutely NO support whatsoever, and the noise. Any noise at all from the hallway comes straight into the room. Closing doors was the worst, but if there was a conversation in the hall I could literally hear everything that was said. As a result of the very non-supportive bed and the noise in the early morning I did not sleep at all.

The restaurant downstairs was also an incredible disappointment. They almost completely ignored us, we had to wait at least 20 minutes just to have a bottle of wine brought to our table. One server came over and said the bartender was busy, when all he had to do was walk 20 feet over and bring the bottle back himself. The wine ($75 bottle) was also really quite terrible - we suspect it had not been stored properly because it was not the typical taste of going off or sour. The food was hit and miss. Some dishes were ok, others were not great and didn't always match the description. I ordered the poached cod, which was supposed to come in a tomato confit with julienned vegetables. It was a horrendously over peppered fish wrapped in a cabbage leaf in very watery broth.

Room Tip: Maybe try to get one at the end of a hallway so there won't be as much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel.

Again, please accept our apologies. We are pleased that you enjoyed our decor and that you found our bathroom was "really nice". We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again when all of our floor will be renovated so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel is beautiful and in a fantastic location. The rooms itself are very spacious for New York City which is very hard to come by. The rooms are all very modern and updated. The bathroom was probably my favorite part of the entire hotel. The bathrooms are all marble and massive. They come fully equipped with everything you need and have a separate bath and shower.

Staff was also extremely friendly and a definite must stay!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan. We are also glad that you enjoyed our comfortable bedroom and the different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 470 in New York City
3,685 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#78 of 470 in New York City
3,605 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 470 in New York City
4,472 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 470 in New York City
3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $243 - $799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing