We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel is in a great location and close to many local attractions. Hotel staff were good, though porters failed to deliver our bags to the room. Had to call the front desk to follow up. Took over an hour to get our bags. Otherwise, the rest of the stay was great.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 707ASP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you enjoyed our central location and that you find our staff good.

We are sorry for the inconvenient you went through because of your luggage delivered.

Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another stay.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,040
    1,672
    382
    125
    65
See reviews for
1,062
2,868
339
854
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballater
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed there for a long weekend. Very friendly and helpful staff, good food in the bar and restaurant. Nice and central for walking to all the interesting spots. On our last morning one of the staff we'd been chatting to rushed off and came back with some chocolates for us leaving. Nice touch.

Room Tip: Get a room on one of the higher floors, get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolleiphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.

We are delighted that you had a great experience at the Gaby Brasserie Française and that you enjoyed our property.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Rating based on the sofitel website being completely misleading showing a seating and drinking area at the top of the hotel overlooking the city. it does not exist, apparently it is the scene from a private suite. Given that was the basis of the booking - very disappointing. When i asked about it I was told i was not the first to be misled. Hotel like this should be more honest.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel.

We regret that you couldn’t experience a drink in one of our Terrace Suites, indeed the picture is of one of our private terraces and we apologize if this was misleading.

We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known for around the world.

Sincerely,

Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel tends to be my hotel of choice when in New York on business .Most of my meetings tend to be in Midtown so the location is great with virtually everywhere I want being within a 10 minute walk .Also good at night with a very good range of restaurants within 5 minutes-from a simple bowl of pasta when arriving jet lagged to Booby Vans steak house round the corner on Sixth Ave .
I supposedly had a Superior Room on the 18th floor which was a bit on the compact side but the 2 main benefits of it were the extremely comfortable bed and the total lack of street noise which i find quite rare in NYC hotels and a great bonus
I never bother eating in the hotel mainly because at breakfast I don't want to start the day with a huge American breakfast (and inability to control my own greed ! ) so i alway just grab a tea and bagel from the cafe over the road and take it back to the room .At night I prefer to leave the confines of the hotel .I find the bar a bit boring and soulless -ok for meeting up before going out but I wouldn't want to spend the night there .
I have always found the concierge desk very helpful particularly with restaurant tip .
The only drawback is the somewhat grating French (do I really want bonjour in New York ) but that's probably my Britness coming out !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.

We are delighted that you had a great experience, that you enjoyed our quiet property, and central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another “Perfect Stay”. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We travel to NYC 3-4 times during the year and stay exclusively at the Sofitel Hotel . The Restaraunt Gaby is located in the hotel and we would not dream of eating anywhere else. EDMOND AND ARIAN have been our waiters and we consider them friends that we enjoy visiting while in town. Their service is impeccable!

Room Tip: We always stay on the 26th floor...FABULOUS
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaCKC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the professionalism of the waiters and enjoyed our different amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We love the Sofitel hotel. Both for service and for location. Our luxury king room was spacious and very quiet. The bed is incredible! truly the most comfortable I have ever slept on. I wanted to pack it up and bring it home with me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our room. All our bedding items are available for purchase on our website.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York on your next anniversary. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,493 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing