We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; comfy beds; no complaints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #54 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
USA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Great location; comfy beds; no complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed two nights for work. Booked on Priceline. Was provided a small queen room on the 4th floor near their meeting rooms. The room was quite small, but not the smallest I've stayed in at other NYC hotels. The bathroom was spacious.

About the room - small desk, flat screen tv, small chair and a queen bed which was comfortable. The room also had a small closet. The bathroom was about half the size of the room and had a tub and a rain shower. The shower was great - very nice soaps, powerful water pressure and ample hot water. Very happy with the room. It was perfectly clean. No signs of any wear and tear I could see.

The hotel itself is rather nice. It is on 44th St and is rather quiet. It has a nice subdued, dark lobby. The staff is a mix of US and French Accor employees. It is clearly the place to stay for wealthy French visitors - I would say about 1/2 the people I met were speaking french.

Staff was very friendly. No issues.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamtope23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York and that you enjoyed the room you stayed in . Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story, we will pass your nice comments on to the concierge and door staff

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,671
    1,497
    347
    109
    55
See reviews for
921
2,583
312
752
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This boutique hotel was wonderful. We have stayed there twice. The attention to detail was phenomenal and the suite with limg size bed was comfortable and well appointed. The service was professional and accommodated all of our needs. Great escape for couples.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the professionalism of the staff and that you enjoyed our different amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

LOVE this hotel. The rooms are spacious and the beds are really comfortable. The rooms and bathroom are always clean and the bathroom has a lot of space. It is also in a great location. We have been staying here for the last four years and we keep coming back. I recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swhitevancouverbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,


We are delighted that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York; that you enjoyed our central location and our very spacious bathroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely ,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I got the Sofitel as a Hotwire.com bargain, so it is probably not fair for me to write about the hotel in terms of value. For me, it was terrific. If you pay full desk price, you might have a different conclusion.

The hotel itself is very nice and in a perfect location: two blocks from Grand Central on one side, two from Times Square on the other, and a few blocks south of the Rockafeller Centre.

If you're anything like me, a hotel in a city centre is simply a space to sleep and shower. I spent very little time in my room, preferring to go out and explore. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom enormous, and - crucially - the soundproofing was immaculate. New York City is, obviously, a very noisy city at all hours, yet I couldn't hear anything of the nearby construction work and slept very peacefully.

I was checking out to go to the airport and they safely, and securely, looked after my bags for a few hours while I went for a final wander. I really can't fault it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you enjoyed our central location.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another “Fantastic stay”. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice in two weeks with cruise in the middle. King room then Junior Suite. Both great. Beds most comfortable ever including my own. 9th & 29th floors both good small amount of wear & tear here & there nothing dramatic. Staff very helpful especially concierge & door staff. Excellent location, close to theatre district 5th Avenue Bryant Park & Rockefeller subway stations.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York and that you enjoyed the rooms you stayed in. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story, we will pass your nice comments on to the concierge and door staff

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,001 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,086 reviews
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#48 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#138 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,896 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#52 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,414 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing