We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its central location, you can walk to almost all the major sites. Its not a modern hotel so the rooms are not the largest but are very comfortable and well equipped with super beds.Our deluxe suite on 25th floor at the rear of the property had views of the Rockfeller building and was very quiet.We booked breakfast inclusive taken at Gabys Restaurant and this was very good .We dined one evening in Gabys also and surprisingly this was poor, small food portions and very slow service. The bar area was nice and had a good atmosphere in the evenings other then that the public areas are not that great. No real complaints but I would probably stay elsewhere on my next visit where rooms and public areas are larger.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernwater1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the City and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan as well as you enjoyed your quiet bedroom overlooking the Rockfeller Center. It is also a pleasure to know that you found the breakfast in Gaby Brasserie Française to be very good and we really regret that you did not enjoy the dinner

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,143
    1,704
    390
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,090
2,930
349
884
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The Sofitel NYC is fabulous!!! You walk in from the city streets and the fresh flower smell from the arrangement makes you feel relaxed. The rooms are just as pictured and described. Very comfortable and roomy for NYC, but also a great style. We were on the 15th floor which was perfect. I could live in the bathroom!!!!! You are a block from 5th avenue and 2 blocks the other way from Time Square... Everything is at your finger tips.
Now, I have to share this since I only gave them a 3 on service. The bellmen, concierge, and housekeeping all get 5's!!!! But the front staff, can leave you feeling like they are better than you, do not really want to answer any inquiries, and we asked about a barking dog next door to our 2 rooms we were in and they basically said oh well. I love animals, but when we both get woken up every morning at 8am, not from the noises from the city because you dont hear that at all!, but from this yippy dog, and we say something, and i see the housekeeper cleaning up feces when I walk by, I wonder why the pet rooms are not blocked near each other so those that chose to leave their dog at home don't have to deal with this on their vacation.
Overall great place and even though I like to explore different hotels I would stay here again and again and just request a room not next to a pet :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovetotravellocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan. We are also glad that you enjoyed our comfortable and “roomy” bedroom.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you went through because of the “yippy dog”.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Needed a place to stay for a night in midtown and was very happy this hotel. The check was very fast and smooth and the lobby was pretty. Our room was on the 9th floor and faced the street but was very quiet. The room is small but the bed was comfortable and the room seemed to have been recently redone. The hotel is very centrally located as we walked to 5th ave and times square without a problem. I booked through Priceline on an auction and the price was great for this level hotel. I wold stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vacationisfun_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.

We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our quiet property and the amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We have now stayed here twice this year for a few days in April and a week in early September. Stayed in Junior Suite both times fantastic rooms a real Oasis in NYC. Only could do betters are 1) free Wifi should be better in rooms and 2) staff in bar and restaurant area continue to be below average. whenever we have gone to the bar they have been talking to each other and very unaware that guests come first. we normally have to wait for them to finish their conversation or they fit getting the drinks in between talking to each other. At these prices that is unacceptable. Let's the hotel down, under better managment it could be a lot busier in the bar and resturant areas. However we are booking again for February and whilst the hotel is a little pricy if itcontinues to offer such great quality rooms we will be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirsch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your Suite but we regret to read that your experience at our restaurant and bar did not reflect the high standards we have set for our hotel. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

We will look closely into the issues you have brought to light and would welcome if you could contact us at your convenience to share your feed-back in detail.
We are looking forard to welcome you back in February.
Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The location of Sofitel New York was perfect for a 5 day stay in Manhattan, easy to walk to several sights and right next to Fifth Avenue. The room itself wasn't too big and the walls between ours and the next room across the corridor were remarkably thin for a hotel of this rating, we could hear a lot of noise from neighbours. Good cocktails in the bar in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lklhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan and we thank you for writing a review following your stay with us.

We are sorry for the inconvenient you went through because of the noise.

Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another stay.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,615 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,591 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
2,920 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
3,473 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing