We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Sofitel”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #64 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 28, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Jackie2905
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,290 - 2,296 of 6,579 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

After spending 9 months sorting this hotel we were not given the appropriate room we asked for and they also wanted to charge us another 70$ a night for it ! Had to wait 45 mins for cases to be bought to our rooms after I had rung reception to see where they were . Overall nice hotel but rubbish service which spoilt it !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problems mentioned.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at Sofitel Aug 22-26. We were on the 23rd floor in room 2310. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff were accommodating. The bed was super comfortable. We had requested a coffee maker and refrigerator and our request was honored. Our room had a great view of the city. The hotel is in a great location and it's easy to get around NYC from the hotel.

We were traveling with another couple and didn't spend much time in the hotel, other than to sleep. We did not eat at Gaby, but chose to have breakfast at the Red Flame Diner just a few steps from the hotel.

We didn't encounter any issues during our stay other than a very noisy family of five who were staying in two rooms down the hall. They slammed doors and yelled most of Friday evening. Our friends were staying across the hall from them and called security at 3am, who promptly came and told them to quiet down. They did until about 6am. We mentioned it to the front desk Saturday morning and they made a note of it and must have warned the family because they were quiet Saturday night. They were noisy again Sunday night, slamming doors and yelling again around midnight but we did not call downstairs since it was our last night. They (the family) were the rudest, most inconsiderate people I have ever encountered during a hotel stay. The Sofitel staff were very accommodating with our travel companions and moved them to a quiet room. We opted to stay in our original room since moving us or the rude family would just have made them someone else's problem, and there was a good bit of distance between our rooms. I know that if we had asked, the hotel would have moved us.

The rates are high--our stay was just under $1500 for 4 nights in a queen superior room. But, you are going to pay a lot more anyway in NYC, so if you want clean, comfortable and quiet (again, the rude family was an exception), you may want to spend more and stay at Sofitel or a similar hotel.

I would return to Sofitel and request a room on a floor with no children.

Room Tip: We were near an elevator but were not in a room adjacent to the elevator so we did not hear the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjt079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and we are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the other guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday trip for 4 nights. The location of the hotel was excellent for tourists - most of the major attractions were within walking distance, e.g. Rockefeller, Times Square, 5th avenue, Broadway... The hotel concierge were very helpful, in particular the guy at the door who called taxis for us. The room was extremely comfortable, it was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. We were on the 20th floor and had a great view from our room. The hotel had some lovely little touches like chocolates and bottles of Evian in your room every day. Our room was very quiet and we could not hear city noise, nor other guests. There was free wifi throughout, which was very useful. We didn't use the bar or restaurant, as we preferred to explore the city, so I can't comment on this. We had a late flight out and they offered to give us a late check out at 2pm with no hassle - we didn't even have to ask for this. Other hotels I have stayed in have charged extra for this, so this was another nice touch. I actually can't think of anything they could have done to improve our stay! A great choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GemmaandKieranSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel New York for your birthday trip and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location as well as the comfort of your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Bianca F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Superb hotel and service. Concierge service always ready to help. Luxury room in excelent location to times square activities ( two blocks). Expensive breakfast, plenty of options nearby. Would stay again over and over...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lhsr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I'm not easy to please, so a five star review from me is an accomplishment (compare my recent review of Uncle Jack's Steakhouse, which was horrendous).

I am currently halfway through a six-night stay at Sofitel NYC and it has been truly excellent. I am probably repeating information from previous reviews, so let me do so in summary form:

-Nice, large modern bathroom (including separate shower, essential for me).

-Good size by NYC standards, with plenty of room for our excess luggage on an extended trip

-Very clean (big contrast to my recent stay at Sofitel Beverly Hills, which was disgusting)

-Good location. Having lived in NYC for many years, I would prefer a downtown location away from the tourist hordes, but my wife loves the location as a first-time visitor, so overall it's excellent. Still far enough from the Times Square madhouse for some serenity.

-Quiet. I mean REALLY quiet, which is a rarity in Manhattan.

-Great service. Some of the best I have experienced, despite my somewhat jaded expectations after spending too much time in NYC.

Nice balance of traditional and modern, with a stylish yet cozy lobby and similar experience in the rooms.

Reliable wifi. Not the fastest, but reliability is for more important for my purposes (work, not video streaming).

Non-smoking hotel. Nothing turns me off more than a stale, smelly room.

Overall, Sofitel checks all the right boxes and I have found nothing to complain about, which makes it an outstanding choice and my new go-to hotel for future stays in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eppic_Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we are your new go-to hotel in New York.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,703 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#46 of 469 in New York City
3,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#45 of 469 in New York City
3,740 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,073 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 469 in New York City
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $261 - $1,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing