We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, good service and in a wonderful location”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Excellent, good service and in a wonderful location”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed many times at the Sofitel and returned recently. It is a close to perfect location for major midtown NYC sites. Rooms are large, very clean, with good beds and lighting. A mini bar, desk and reasonably good storage. Wifi is free though I had some intermittent issues. Good size marble bath with shower and tub and all the amenities. Service is very good,friendly and helpful. The lobby is a good place to sit and do things, and the restaurant and bar are very pleasant with good food and a pleasant ambiance. All in all it is a very good choice for a midtown hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at the Sofitel New York and that you enjoyed your large and comfortable room as well as the pleasant lobby and restaurant. At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests, therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,143
    1,704
    391
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,090
2,930
349
884
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place was lovely, we stayed for 5 nights. Staff were nice and friendly, we had no issues. There was no noise from our room, we didn't have any kind of view but that didn't bother us. A nice touch is the radio playing when you enter your room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bone714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing such a nice review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is my main go-to hotel in NYC - clean, comfortable rooms with great amenities, and a great location in mid-town. Staff is always friendly and helpful. I go to NYC often for business and this is where I always go.

Room Tip: I like the higher floors - they're always quieter in Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York for your stays in the city.
We are thrilled to know that we are your go-to hotel in New York and are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a night in Manhattan with my husband. The hotel is conveniently located, the staff were courteous and the rooms were really comfortable and spacious for a NYC hotel. We has dinner late in the evening at Restaurant Gaby. The meal and wine was very enjoyable with a great selection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elseeyel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York for your one night stay in the city.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our accommodations and courteous staff and that you had a nice dinner at our Gaby restaurant.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel. The entire staff was very friendly and acknowledged us each time they saw us. Every one of them asked if they could help us. The rooms were clean and had plenty of room. The halls and lobby were kept very nice and the restaraunt was very good. We ate there for breakfast several times. We recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nceahuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for recommending the Sofitel New York following your stay in the city.
We are delighted to know that you had such a nice stay with us and are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A very pleasant, spacious, friendly hotel in an excellent location. Our room was quite large. The staff were friendly and helpful but there were sometimes lines. The wifi logged on automatically after our first registration and was fast. Food was ok. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are thrilled to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,615 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,591 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
2,920 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
3,473 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing