We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great -- but no tea/coffee in room?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great -- but no tea/coffee in room?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is great, obviously. It's 5-star. However, there are one or two things worth noting. Let's start with the three most important not-so-great aspects.

As an English person, the lack of any tea or coffee making facilities in the room is a big problem. Ordering room service for $12/cup is not really an option. Going to the lobby between 6am-11am to get free tea is an option, and one we used. Not ideal though.

While the hotel is well sound-proofed from the world outside, it's not very well sound-proofed from the world inside. The first night we were woken at 5am by room service hammering on a neighbouring door, for some time. The room doors slam when the close (by themselves) and there is no sound-proofing to the corridor.

The luggage storage was a problem too. The guy couldn't find one of our bags when we came to retrieve it, then invited my husband into the storage facility to see if he could find it. When the bag eventually turned up (three people had started looking for it at this point), and we had been waiting for about 10 minutes, the guy had the cheek to look offended when we didn't tip.

There were some definite positives: the reception staff were exceptionally good (though they needed more of them), the gym was exceptionally good, the location was just perfect and the room (bed, bathroom facilities and amenities, free internet) was great.

We would probably stay here again, but I would check out other similar hotels first. This hotel is below the standard of the Sofitel Melbourne, our 'usual' haunt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing a review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we apologize for the problems you have encountered with your luggage and the noise in the corridor. We gladly provide in room tea/coffee making facility upon request.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,031
    1,668
    382
    124
    65
See reviews for
1,055
2,865
338
852
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed at Sofitel many times over the years and continue to call it my NY Home Away from Home. The staff at Sofitel is always willing to go that extra mile for guests and they do it with a smile. I will not go on and on about how great they are instead I will post several photos so you can see. If you find NY in your future travels I highly recommend that you give Sofitel a chance and maybe, just maybe you too will call this your NY Home Away from Home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TMCNEWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,
We are delighted that you had a great experience at Sofitel New York. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at your NYC home.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Sofitel on 44nd Street for three nights during the mid-July heatwave. We arrived quite early on a Saturday morning, knowing that there was a strong possibility that our room would not be available yet. The man checking us in told us as much, and then was happily interrupted by a colleague who told us that a room had just become available, as the person that she was just trying to check in didn't want a room with two beds. Woo hoo! The check-in process itself was a breeze. Our room was on the 8th floor and was absolutely delightful. From the ridiculously comfortable beds to the wonderful rainfall shower head, I couldn't have been happier with my stay at the Sofitel. All of the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant (and seemed genuinely happy to see you) and, to my surprise, many greeted us in French (which makes sense, given that, from what I understand, the parent company is French. There is also a French theme running through the hotel). We also ate in the hotel restaurant, Gaby's. The service was great and the food was good, albeit a little on the salty side. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the Sofitel New York for your stay in the city. We are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the quality of our accomodations and services. Our Sobed is available for purchase on our website.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I always stay in Accor properties as I'm a Platinum member, so I've been in the Sofitel NY with my wife and my baby daughter. When you're travelling with a baby there's always the concern if the baby's needs will be met. There was no need for worries here because their services are excellent. We were arriving in a early flight and they accomodate us as we arrive. I needed a fridge for my baby's stuff, they sent in the fridge. I needed hot water, "We'll do better sir, will send you a tea potter". We even had packages delivered before we arrive to the hotel, and when we arrive the packages were with the concierge who sent it right up for us. The location is also great place to explore New York. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ligzrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,
We are delighted that you had a great experience at Sofitel New York. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel with your little girl.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Sofitel for 5 nights during the first week of June. I was a bit concerned because I had booked via a third party discount internet web site. The staff of the hotel were excellent, the room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was nice as well. The location between Bryant Park and Rockefeller Center was convenient and quiet. We go to NYC at least twice a year, so I try to avoid hotels in and near Time Square because of the noise and crowds. Overall, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed at in Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George_StonyBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing a review following your stay at the Sofitel New York for your stays in the city. We are happy to know that our accommodation allowed you to experience a quieter New York yet still be close to the action.
We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
167 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because a good friend had recently stayed. The room was a nice size, comfy bed, nice bathroom. The staff are very attentive. For the price of a regular room I was impressed with the spaciousness and quietness it offered. We had drinks at the bar, brunch, and room service. All were tasty and reasonable and could stand up against other more known establishments. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are very pleased to know that your stay met all your expectations and we are looking forward to welcome you back as well.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,491 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing