We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the non-bling 5-star midtown hotels”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #60 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 20, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Toonbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,529)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,311 - 2,317 of 6,530 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was a great hotel in a great location. The service from the Senior Concierge Renee was excellent; he is a great asset to the hotel. The room was spacious and well presented. The location close to times square was convenient as there was a subway there for access to battery park & the 911 monument. 5th Avenue and its shops were only 1/2 block away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank NJ69152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for choosing Sofitel New York for your stay in the city.
We are thrilled to hear that you found our concierge to be very helpful and that you enjoyed the comfort of your room as well as our unique location in the heart of Midtown.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and i just spent a week staying at this hotel. Our room was a decent room with a nice and sizable bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the aircon was good, especially as we spent the past week in a New York heat wave.The room was clean and tidy, and from the 21st level there was no noise. All this is to be expected from a 5 star big name hotel. What was unexpected was the level of service, which was exceptional. My wife became ill during our stay, and we were put in contactwitha doctor. When we went to get a cab to visit the doctor, there was a long queue and no taxis. A lady from the hotel went inside to call the doctor to say we'd be late, and Elvis the doorman ended up running down the street to get a taxi for us, travelling regularly and staying in many different hotels i cab say that virtually all the staff at this hotel were exceptional. A coup, of the french reception staff might need to learn "people skills" but the hotel gets our tick of approval

Room Tip: We were advised to get a room on a higher floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are glad that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the superior level of service we strive to be known for. Thank you for your kind words on our staff, it will certainly serve as an encouragement to them.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My partner and I love the location. It can't be beat for access to the theaters, restaurants and bars. The restaurant Gaby's at the hotel is wonderful for breakfast and lunch. The service and the food were excellent. We were on a high floor and had a great view. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. It's really nice to walk into the hotel and everyone (staff) smiles at you and wishes you a good day or a pleasant evening. We have tried other hotels in the city, but this is our favorite!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 2gr8tguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York for your stay in the city. We are delighted to read such a positive review and are very much looking forward to welcoming you again at your favorite hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

That is a great Sofitel hotel. The staff is simpatic and very polite. The rooms have good size, the bathrooms are perfect. I loved the amenities. The location is great, in a street with good restaurants (see my other reviews) and next to lovely NY sites, like Grand Central Station, Times Square, Bryant Park. Loved the breakfast, which was included in my package, very good indeed. The general manager, a portuguese gentleman, is the perfect host - helped us a lot. It was a unforgettable experience. My little 2 years olá child, Catarina, keeps remembering our good times there. We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guest,
We are delighted to read that you had such a nice stay at the Sofitel New York and that you "felt like home". We are looking forward to welcoming you and your little girl again for another memorable stay.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I took my 2 teenage kids there in June, and booked a one bedroom suite with a pull out sofa, on a high floor. The suite was perfect, very large, with a wide hallway and amazing bathroom separating the bedroom from the living area. Recently renovated and nicely decorated. The hotel was clean and conveniently located.The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmunroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guest,
We are delighted that you had such a pleasant experience at Sofitel New York and that you enjoyed the convenience of our Sofa bed Suite for this family stay. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank chloeannmcnally
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
3,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 468 in New York City
3,675 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,018 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#133 of 468 in New York City
5,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $309 - $1,104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing