We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“fabulous hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #55 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fabulous hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I took my 2 teenage kids there in June, and booked a one bedroom suite with a pull out sofa, on a high floor. The suite was perfect, very large, with a wide hallway and amazing bathroom separating the bedroom from the living area. Recently renovated and nicely decorated. The hotel was clean and conveniently located.The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmunroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,
We are delighted that you had such a pleasant experience at Sofitel New York and that you enjoyed the convenience of our Sofa bed Suite for this family stay. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,663
    1,496
    346
    109
    55
See reviews for
919
2,575
312
752
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Have spent 5 nights with my family in this nice hotel end June. Since we have three kids, have booked special offer for families (2nd room at 50 % discount). Rooms were connecting, spacious, high floor - as advertised. Staff is extremly friendly and helpfull, all our need were promptly fulfilled. On 2nd day of our stay our youngest daughter get sick, concirerge arranged visit of hotel doctor within 1 hour and we once again thanks a lot for this particular help. Location is perfect, between 5th Ave and Times Square, many reastaurants and Theathres on walking distance (10 minuntes max) so no time lost on transporations, hailing taxi, etc. Also nearest Subwaz station is only 2 blocks away (42nd St /Bryant park). Will definitely return to this hotel when in New York again!!

Room Tip: High floors!!No noise, nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dena_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel New York for your family vacation. We are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed our very convenient location.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that your next visit will be as pleasing as the previous one.
Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Everything you would expect from a premier New York hotel. Spacious rooms, nicely styled with comfortable beds. Common areas are also comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and were extremely attentive and pleasant. The concierge desk was knowledgeable, polite and funny and helped us get the most out of July 4th holiday weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottsarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the quality of our service.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,990 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,074 reviews
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#47 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#141 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,873 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#50 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,405 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing